Japanese Shamisen (三味線) :: Modern Blends ~ Eric Clapton, Change the World

in #music7 years ago (edited)

The shamisen is a traditional 3 string instrument. You make the sounds by plucking at the strings, like a guitar. It gives a nice and gentle sound. This shamisen featured in this video is a chuzao-shamisen, which just means medium sized shamisen.

I still like the previous modern blend I posted best, but this is also quite nice. Give it a listen and chill out.


Thank you for reading. :)

If you enjoyed this post, please like and resteem. Also be sure to follow me to see more from Japan everyday.

I post one photo everyday, as well as a haiku and as time allows, videos, more Japanese history, and so on. Let me know if there is anything about Japan you would like to know more about or would like to see.


Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

Wow 😮 Eric Clapton by Shamisen and Koto!
What an amazing! resteem.

Pretty cool, eh? This entire "Modern Blends" series is really neat. It seems to be sponsored by NHK. I will be posting more of them in the future.

Love Shamisen bro! Yoshida Brothers? I just posted about them.

Where are you at in Japan? I live in Hachioji, but am overseas at the moment. Coming back 12/1 if you want to meet up. - just saw you're down in Nagoya. If I'm ever in the area I'll hit you up.

Whoops, sorry I overlooked your reply, @rt395. Thanks for stopping by — glad you enjoyed the post. These NHK Modern Blend videos are wild. There are a few with the shamisen, and many with other traditional instruments too. I am posting one every few days.

Sorry to say I don't make it up to Tokyo very often. WIth two kids and more than two bills, travel is tricky. But having said that, sure, I'd love to meet up if possible. I'm all for meeting as many people from the Steemit world as possible. How long have you been up there?

Originally moved to Tokyo in 01. Moved back to Cali, then back to Tokyo. Been there for 2 years this time.

I hear ya about the kids. I have 3 and doing anything nowadays costs a fortune!

Have only passed though Nagoya on the way to Kyoto and Osaka, but it would be nice to see the city. I heard it was booming. Are there any other Steemit users in Nagoya??

Back and forth, eh? Ah yeah with 3 kids, I'm sure you know the money story. I love traveling, but it is just too painful to my wallet to do a lot. Then we have the case where a photo job will pay for my traveling by myself, so I go alone, but then I miss my kids. haha the complex fun of being a parent, eh?

I haven't yet met any other Steemit users around this area, but hopefully some join soon. I convinced my buddy near Nagoya to sign up a few months ago, but he hasn't actually used the service since signing up. Oh well

l love shamisen! they can play japanese traditional music and rock music too!love it❤️