Driving north.

in #music6 years ago

Three hundred and twenty miles to miles to drive til dawn
And I've got a list
five names long.

I've had good company on this trip-- Jade, who took on a good chunk of the driving- and my old ipod (before apple music decimated my old mp3's). With each new song, I'd tell Jade: "You gotta listen to this one, my favorite bassist/drummer combo (It was Queen), wait, no, favorite vocalist ever in Freddy... but Brian May was the king! It went on like this through song after song. Van Halen's "When push comes to Shove, with David Lee Roth conjuring a bit of Janis Joplin while Eddie did what Eddie does. Turned Jade on to Black Uhuru (again, argument for rhythm section with Sly and Robbie), went wild anytime Radio Birdman showed up on rotation. Got emotional with Elton John, Jeff Buckley, Brendan O'Shea, and a personl super fave- "For Emily, wherever I may find her." Art Garfunkel takes it to a place of Queens-based beauty that no Amazing Mets could compete with. New Order, Government Issue, Bullet LaVolta, The Afghan Whigs, Djivan Gasparian and some Mogwai.

Sort:  

Pumpkins, Tool and Silverchair for me.
My kids smile politely, but they don't care.

Loading...