I Want Liberty

in #music7 years ago

I wrote this song a few months ago, which I believe pretty much sums up where we Americans now stand.

(Recorded with a 1940 Harmony Roy Smeck Artiste archtop.)

I Want Liberty
by Donald A. Tevault

People here think that we’re free,
That the USA is the Land of Liberty.
Why can’t they see our chains?
Why do I have to explain,
That we’re not free at all.

Chorus
And you know I’d like to throw off these chains.
Why do I even have to explain?
I want liberty.

Politicians of all parties telling lies,
From the truth they want to hide.
And then the brainwashed populace,
Believing lies they can’t resist.
Why can’t they see?

Westerns ranchers defending their lands,
Trying to draw a line in the sand.
Government persecuting and murdering,
The Hammonds, Bundys, and,
Lavoy Finicum.

We’re always in perpetual war,
What are we even fighting for?
Sending our young folk off to die,
Comforting them with the lie,
That they defend freedom.

I want to live in liberty,
Don’t want to live under tyranny.
When will we ever become free?
You know I’d like to live to see,
If it can ever be.

Copyright © 2016 Donald A. Tevault
All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Congratulations @donniet! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!