From Inspiration To Creation

in #music2 months ago (edited)

Celebrating the One-Year Anniversary of My Debut EP ‘It Was All A Dream’

000070.jpg

Soon, it will be the one-year anniversary of the release of my debut EP, It Was All A Dream. This small project originated when I decided to move to Los Angeles—6,000 miles away from my family. The whole process of writing, recording, and producing this album made me realize the power we hold in turning any idea into reality.

As we approach the anniversary of its release, July 18ty, I wanted to take some time to reflect on each song and share with you the meanings and inspirations behind them.

'It Was All A Dream' is a small EP of five songs exploring my experience in the city. I met beautiful people and experienced life like never before. Now, when I look back and reflect on that experience, it seems as if it never happened and as if it all had just been a dream.

Track 1: La La Land

I wrote this song right after moving to Los Angeles. To me, the city seemed to have the freedom and energy I needed to become the person I wanted to be. It felt like everyone found understanding and a true sense of home, and I wanted to be part of that. The song has an upbeat rhythm, intending to serve as an anthem for the summer and evoke the feelings of endless summertime.

Track 2: Alyssa

Alyssa is actually a real woman whom I met very briefly in the first week after moving to Los Angeles. Although I only came to know her name, her energy inspired me to write this. She lived life like the main character, staying true to her essence without trying to change herself to fit in. Later on, I realized that the story I created about her and what I say in the song is actually a reflection of the kind of person I aspire to be.

Track 3: Betty Jane

Betty Jane is a woman I crossed paths with during my time in the States. She reminded me so much of my grandma, and she stood beside me, giving me the family warmth I needed while I was away from home.

At the time of producing the song, I decided to add a snippet of her voice to make it a bit more special. This song is a thank-you letter to her for everything she did for me.

Track 4: Better Off Without This

After a while of living in Los Angeles, I felt that the energy the city was giving me was no longer serving me, so I decided to move back home. Writing this song helped me leave behind what wasn't serving me and find peace in moving on. The synths and the whole atmosphere created in the song were inspired by Sufjan Stevens' song "Mystery of Love."

Track 5: Visions

This song serves as the closing track of the EP. It is the only one that I wrote when I was already home, reflecting back on the positive things the city brought me despite my decision, and realizing that happiness lies within you, not in external pursuits.

I invite you to listen to my music and hope it takes you to a mental state detached from reality. Thank you for reading until the end, I look forward to sharing more with you in the future.

--

Instagram
Twitter
Sound.xyz
Spotify
erinhyvin.com