10 Questions Interview: 'Songwriting is Spirituality with a good work ethic'

in #music6 years ago (edited)

10 Questions

I recently had a chance to do an interview called 10 Questions with Patrick Lombardi. I did this months ago. It's always so strange to hear the way my brain was thinking just a few months ago. In the interview, I talk a little about my past childhood in music and some of my own thoughts on songwriting, including thoughts on popular music.

Excerpt from 10 Questions

What goes into writing a good song? Ezra: My mind complicates that question. Songwriting for me is spirituality with a good work ethic. I always have to differentiate between writing a “popular song’” that might be good and a “good song” that might get popular. Most think that a popular song is a good song. I don’t like to bash popular music, but so much of what is out there is soulless, and so it will not live on in souls.

Read The Full Interiview


Sparkchamber

I'll also an interview that was done at the same time where I go more in detail into my creative process, on the artists routines and writer's block.

Excerpt from SparkChamber

In the same way, my unconscious is always calculating in the background the interactions I have had and questions that are posed to me in everyday ordinary life.

There seems to be a space between the transference of this information where the artist can grab pieces of the raw “data” and create something tangible that represents this process in a material form.

I think this internal solving process goes on inside of everyone whether “creative” or not. That is why art fascinates us; we recognize it because the same process is going on in us.

Read Full Article


Thanks for the support and reading. Follow @ezravan and a RESTEEM and UPVOTE are always appreciated!


image 1
image 2

Sort:  

'Music is spirituality with a good work ethic' - this has to be my new favourite quote, how wonderful, you seem like a deeply enriched soul, I need to go and explore your sounds..looking forward to that adventure.