Sin City by Gram Parsons (A Cover by Tim Wakefield)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

So, I'm sure you were wondering, why hasn't @fulcanelli actually posted any Gram Parsons songs yet? Well, the answer is that even I don't know why I haven't yet, but I'm going to rectify that right here and now.

For those who are interested in such things, I am playing the basic Epiphone SG. It does have alnico pickups in it. I've got a matching pair - one in Faded Brown for Open A, and one in Faded Cherry for Open E. I'm playing through a Memory Toy delay box for that little hit of reverby-type shizzle, and a Laney Cub 8 Amp.

I use as heavy gauge strings as I can get on there safely. I'm a bit lazy and I've yet to really set the intonation on this guitar, so if it sounds a bit funky, that's either my playing or my fault for not setting it up right yet. Either way, I'm taking no responsibility. :-)

Sin City

by Gram Parsons

This old town's filled with sin. It'll swallow you in...
If you've got some money to burn.

Take it home right away. You've got three years to pay....
But Satan is waiting his turn.

This old earthquake's gonna leave me in the poorhouse.
It seems like this whole town's insane.
One the thirty-third floor a gold plated door
Won't keep out the Lord's burning rain.

The scientists say it'll all wash away...
But they don't believe anymore.
'Cos we got our recruits and our green mohair suits...
So please show your ID at the door.

This old earthquake's gonna leave me in the poorhouse.
It seems like this whole town's insane.
On the thirty-third floor, a gold plated door
Won't keep out the Lord's burning rain.

A friend came around, trying to clean up this town
His ideas made some people mad.
But he trusted his crowd, so he spoke right out loud.
And they lost the best friend they had.

This old earthquake's gonna leave me in the poorhouse.
It seems like this whole town's insane.
On the thirty-third floor, a gold plated door
Won't keep out the Lord's burning rain.

You can find the original version on the Gilded Palace of Sin by the Flying Burrito Brothers, or in this Youtube video. I recommend the whole album. :-)

Sort:  

Love it mate. You do great stuff Tim. Keep 'em coming.

Thanks Geoff! So nice to virtually meet someone who's into the same kind of music. :-)

Great cover. Well done!
Following
Cheers
buckydurddle

Thanks you! Much appreciated. Steemit is allowing me to let off a bit of steam and play some of my favourites. :-)