Merry Christmas Steemit! - Music, Art, and Greetings From My Absence

in #music6 years ago

Hey all, it’s been a while since I’ve been around here, but I think I’m back for good now. Third time’s the charm, and I’ve gone inactive twice, but now I’m settled into my new home in Kansas City, and finally feeling stabilized enough to put time into this more.

While I’ll definitely continue the same sort of content I was posting, chiefly music reviews, I’m realizing that sticking strictly to any one thing is too suffocating. Depth of content is always important, but when I go too deep on one thing, I can burn out easily, so I’ll be trying to go broader with which of my interests I write about. If you like being exposed to new and unusual ideas, or just ones you’re not familiar with, stay tuned!

Today I’ve got a short piece of music for you that I composed based around a generative system I’ve been working on. The melody was written based on some letter-to-number-to-note processes, and then harmonized and elaborated intuitively from there. Here’s a symbol I created in representation of some of this process:

IMG_0642.JPG

The piece, titled Self-Remembering Spell, was written for a Secret Santa exchange, so I notated it by hand and bound it in a folder with a poem to make it look nice:

IMG_0640 2.jpg

You can hear the piece on my Bandcamp page if you click here.

Anyway, it’s nice to be back - especially looking at the price of SBD 😮, so Merry Christmas and until next time!

Sort:  

Hey I was wondering where you've been! Glad to see your back to posting again, I hope you have a great Christmas break :D

Yeah I've been super busy, biggest life changes to date probably. You too, plenty of good food and corny music I hope!

Merry crismiss steem user and hope you r enjoying holiday and hope in tge next crismiss steemit get more success

Congratulations @fungusmonk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!