Donna Terry Weiss - Singer and Songwriter

in #music5 months ago (edited)

Once upon a time there was a teenage singer and songwriter who wrote the two songs we'll hear today in 1965. Her name is Dona Weiss. Later she had great success as the co-writer of the big hit song Bette Davis Eyes sung by Kim Carnes in 1981.

But in 1965 Donna wrote and sung the female lead in the song I Want You which is a pop rock tune similar to Sonny and Cher, sung by Tony and Terri (Donna Terry Weiss). It's very catchy and I included it on my first podcast many years ago.

I never met anyone like you
And I'm tired of doing everything other people do
You know what I want babe
I Want You!

Meanwhile down in Memphis Tennessee also in 1965 The Breakers somehow came across a song written by Donna Weiss called Don't Send Me No Flowers (I Ain't Dead Yet). This is a very fuzz guitar driven song and from 1965, wow! What a Garage Rock classic tune!

Don't send me no flowers I ain't dead yet!
Don't put no headstone on my grave!
She belongs to me and I intend to keep her!
I'm used to getting everything I crave!
I ain't run across yet a girl I couldn't get
When I wanted her!

The ending is kind of funny. The song is in its fade out and at the last second we hear 2 notes on harmonica. :D

I should drop Bette Davis Eyes in here I guess. It's not Garage Rock but it was a big song for Donna Terry Weiss.

Sort:  

Congratulations @garagebill! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!