The Continentals - Take Me (plus 3 other songs!)

in #music4 months ago

I just this minute discovered a cool new Garage Rock song that I have never heard before! I've been seeking out obscure Garage Rock records from the mid 60s since the early 80s and it amazes me that I still find ones I was unaware of.

So this is The Continentals, a Texas Garage Rock band, singing Take Me. The first 12 seconds are some weird organ sounds. Seems like 4 chords played through either a tremolo device on max speed, or Leslie speakers rotating at max speed. Whatever it is, I guess they were going for some sort of space age sound. Then the typical pounding Garage Rock drums kick in, followed by organ and guitar. Finally vocals add, and its a love song but the words aren't very clear.

And all I can say is, Ta-a-ake Me!

The bridge is slightly weak, but typical of songs from that day. Then comes a fairly awesome fuzzy guitar break with not one but two guitars!

The ending is the same weird organ sound at the beginning. But all in all, I can dig this!

So as I listen to this, it reminds me of 3 other songs. First is Hangin On A String by ? and The Mysterians. The bass and organ are quite similar. Even the vocals have the same feel? Agree?

Second, the prototypical Garage Rock song that I bet most Garage Bands knew and had in their sets when they played parties and clubs. Just Like Me by Paul Revere and the Raiders had a huge hit with this one in 1965. Note the dual guitar solo in the middle, just like The Continentals did in Take Me!

I also hear a little summer song vibe in here. I think mixing this in adds to the slightly quiet vibe of Take Me. A Summer Song by Chad and Jeremy was a well known 60s hit and was probably known by The Continentals. Do you hear this in Take Me?