The Donnas, Garage Rock Revival Song?

in #music8 months ago

Maybe it's just me, but when your name is Garage Bill, you tend to hear Garage Rock in everything. Yesterday I wrote about Donna Weiss and today I found something new to me from The Donnas so it seemed like fate that I should blog about it here.

I lost track of The Donnas after their major label hit album Spend The Night in 2002 with their big Hit Take It Off. Apparently they were out with their next LP Gold Metal in 2004.

I Don't Want To Know (If You Don't Want Me)

The lead track is I Don't Want To Know (If You Don't Want Me) and to me, this sounds like Garage Rock! It's got the guitar and the chord progressions and the lead guitar break and the beat and tempo. What do you think? Here is the official video:

Fall Behind Me

This is another song with an official video from Gold Metal. It's straight up classic rock, and it Does rock!

The Donnas (First Album)

Back in 1997 when the 4 girls were still just girls (under 18) they put out their first album. It sounds like the Ramones to me. That's perfect, I love the Ramones!

All the tracks are short, fast and guitar driven. "Lana and Stevie" and "Everybody's Smoking Cheeba" stand out for me. Have you ever heard any of this before?

Hey ho let's go!

Sort:  

Congratulations @garagebill! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 500 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 1000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023