The Velvet Illusions - Mini Shimmy

in #music5 months ago

We're back in original Garage Rock territory with this 1967 Go Go dance song from The Velvet Illusions. I don't know much about them other than what the description tells me - they are from Yakima, Washington and made this track in 67.

It takes 26 seconds to really get go go going. It's a slow intro before that. But then the tempo speeds and we hear about Mimi Shimmy, a Go Go Dancer. She's a dancing fool who shakes it hot and dances cool! The beat of this song is prime for Go Go dancing, with a fast drum and cool guitar with some organ in the background.

Dance I say!

I met a girl who's name is Mini
The boys all tell me she's a flirt.
With every boy she'll shake and shimmy
Moving while in her mini skirt!

Min ee Shim mee
Shake it Mini
Mini Go Go GO!

Follow me for more obscure 60s Garage Rock, Garage Punk, Psychedelic and other music!