You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Designing My Performance

in #music6 years ago

People often forget about the performance design aspect of any live shows, whether you are a DJ/producer or working with instruments. I used to use a tascam digital 8 track loaded with all my loops that I made on a loopstation for my live performances. That was tricky because I had to know at what times to bring the faders of each track up and down, sometimes multiple fader movements at the same time, while singing over the tracks, but it led to a cool byproduct which was the songs would always come out uniquely every time. Performing is tough work m8, keep it up :)

Sort:  

Performance is definitely tough. That's awesome though, you definitely have more skill than me then since I sometimes have to rely on the sync button. It's tough, but so exciting! What do you use now? I'm using Traktor, Numark Mixtrack Quad, and IK Multimedia iRig pads.

I moved over entirely from playing everything live and looping, then recording into my tascam and using that to perform, to creating everything in FL Studio. Definitely an adjustment for me, but it offers so much more ease of editing and so many more sounds and tools to work with in general. Check out my soundcloud to hear some stuff made on FL studio.