An update of my music collection

in #music4 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, I'm a few days old over here at PEAKD and I decided to continue a series of posts that I've been making back at Steemit presenting music albums that I'm purchasing over a period of several months. Music is by far my favourite hobby - along with attending gigs and festivals and rock & metal music are my favourite kinds of music.
Since PEAKD has merged the Steemit posts into itself - up until recently as I understand it - it serves greatly the sense of continuity with older posts with relevant content, so I'm only picking up where from I left those series of posts.
In the past I've presented several items, either vinyl records or cds or cassette tapes and these are the kind of items I'm actually purchasing in order to have a collection of my favourite albums and also grow my collection. Currently in this post I only have cds to present, however I also have cassette tapes and some other albums waiting to be delivered when the time comes, so the rest of what I want to present will be shown in a future post.

First two albums to present here are the ones I received yesterday, the first is by the band Evergrey and their last album they've released so far The Atlantic

IMG_20200402_215909.jpg

Country of origin : Sweden

This album was released last year (2019) and the band went on tour to support it and two stops in their European tour were here in Greece. I had seen them for the first time the previous time that they had visited Athens and having heard their new album I got excited and knew I wanted to see them again. By the way, after that gig I bought their album in vinyl from their merch stand and now I have it on cd too. I also got the record signed by their bass player and also their drummer who left me with very good impression as well.

IMG_20200402_215939.jpg

The edition presented here is a collector's edition (as can be seen on the front cover) and it contains two discs, the first disc is the album and the second disc contains six tracks that were recorded live in three of their European stops. The last two tracks are recorded live in Athens and when going to gigs I like to record songs with my mobile phone and it so happened that the second track in this disc of their Athens gig I had recorded with my phone. Below you can watch it if you want.

I'm including here the post I had made about this gig in case you like to check it out and also watch other videos of songs I had recorded that night.
In case you want to have a look at the vinyl record, click to see the first album shown.

Moving on, next band are Full House Brew Crew and their second album Me Against You

IMG_20200402_222628.jpg

This is a Greek group which was formed by a man called Vagelis Karzis who has been widely known through his participation in the Greek legendary band Rotting Christ as their bass player from 2012 onwards until last year when he announced that he was leaving. Since at about the same time the guitarist of Rotting Christ also left the band in order to concentrate on his own band, I thought that it was the same case for Vagelis too and maybe it was but not very long after that another band Wolfheart announced that he had joined their band since there was an empty position for guitars to cover for their live appearances and after a few months he has been established as their permanent guitarist.

IMG_20200402_222649.jpg

This album here is in the style of bands such as Pantera, Five Finger Death Punch and others and I suggest everyone to give it a listen. I'm including below a video to offer a taste of their music, the track is the second track of this album shown here.

I want to say that Wolfheart are among my favourite Finnish bands, because they have in their music such a captivating atmosphere that captures me and I'm truly loving it, therefore I'm double happy that a Greek person is a member in that band and very shortly they're also releasing their new album and I'm surely buying it, as I have bought the previous three out of the four albums that group have released. Also the band along with Rotting Christ and three other bands had scheduled to go to a North American tour, but the Coronavirus pandemic broke out and the tour was cancelled, so they are organizing a virtual gig. They're organizing this for some time now through a fundraising platform, I'll quote here what this is about

The World is shutting down, all tour and gigs are being cancelled....BUT not this one. If we can't travel to you to play and nobody is allowed to take part in any events we will bring our exclusive gig to your home...to your laptop, to your tablet, to your TV, to your phone etc
The ticket will give access to the fullHD pro mixed audio Multicam lives how download link. Watch it 1 times or 1000 + Q&A video + Full gear rundown video
This is our way to reach to our fans that we are now unable see and play for them. Also this hopefully provides way for us to recover a bit financially after the disaster that struck us after US tour got cancelled. All visas, flights, backline, merch, tax waivers etc paid...phuuh...

I have bought my ticket and I'm waiting to enjoy this virtual gig through my pc, should be just fine.

Moving on, I've got a few black metal albums to present. starting from Arkona and their latest released album Age Of Capricorn

Arkona front.jpg

Country of origin : Poland

I got in touch with this band and album by browsing their label's website I think and when I saw it I thought to give it a listen.

I didn't need a lot of time to understand that this album appealed to me a lot and at that time not the whole album was available to listen to, but that didn't stop me from placing my order. There's also another band under the same name from Russia playing though a different genre of music, but I haven't heard anything from them, so I can't give any information about them. Reading about this band presented here I know now that it's among the oldest polish bands in this genre but I only found out about them recently.

Arkona back.jpg

Next band to present are also hailing from Poland and the album is their latest release so far.
Mgła and the album Age Of Excuse

mgla front.jpg

I got in touch with this band through somebody's recommendation at the time of their previous album's release, which I loved and this next release of theirs couldn't be missed.

mgla back.jpg

I don't have much to say, since I like this one a lot as well and also I didn't miss the opportunity to go and see them live when they visited Athens, a gig that was first scheduled at a date but had to be postponed for another date, but that didn't matter so much. I've also made a post about this gig, you can read it here.

Next band are also veterans in this black metal genre hailing from Greece.
Deviser and their latest release to date, an EP Howling Flames

deviser front.jpg

I didn't have any real contact with their music, I had only listened to their previous release from 2011 and at some point I saw that they were being active again since their last release with an Ep containing two songs, so I listened to them when they were available and I liked them.

deviser back.jpg

At the back in the above photo it actually shows three tracks and two videos. The first two tracks are the new songs and the third track is a mix of an already released song in their previous album from 2011, only this version is like a cover mix of the original one. The two videos are video songs of their new songs.

Moving on to the next band, the album although the band are in the black metal sound, this album is not at all.
Winterfylleth with their album The Hallowing Of Heirdom

Winterfylleth front.jpg

Country of origin : England

I think I got in touch with this band at some time when I was looking at somebody's blog or distro, I'm not sure, can't really remember and I thought to look into the band shown here and see whether I like their music. I discovered the album presented here, which the band decided to release with music of actually acoustic nature focusing on old English traditional concepts and the melodies are so mesmerising that I couldn't believe such excellent music can be released and not be noticed.

Another thing that kinda surprised me is a comment that I saw somebody left that he couldn't play the entire album continuously without getting some kind of tiring sentiment, something along this line, whereas myself can listen to the whole album and then put it on repeat and listen to it again.

Winterfylleth back.jpg

The edition presented here is a deluxe edition with two discs, the one disc is the album and the second disc contains four tracks, two tracks are alternative versions of the main tracks in the first disc, one track is a bonus track and one track is the demo version of the main track in the album disc.
The band have released an album after the one shown here, which I haven't listened at all, not being able to surpass this one in my mind and soon they're about to release their new album, which I've already pre-ordered. They have published two tracks until now from their new one and I've listened to them and I'm waiting impatiently to get their album in my hands. The release of a folk / acoustic album like the one I'm presenting was only an exception in their discography and this exception for me is absolutely great.

Well, we've hit the end here. Please leave me a comment if you want and listen to great music no matter what genre.
Thanks for reading this post and until my next post, be well and like the Vulcan salute in Star Trek says, Live Long And Prosper

Sort:  

Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it Entra nella nostra community! hive-193212
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it. Join our community! hive-193212



This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello! I think a witness vote already exists from me.