Where There's Smoke

in #music6 years ago


A quick demo of a song created for a Musical Theatre project I'm working on called The Tikbalang and Me

The song is from an experiential learning project that will culminate in a one-act, musical theatre and multimedia production intended for a target audience of grades 6 - 8 students in Toronto, Canada. Additionally, the project will result in a recorded album, a graphic novel and/or an animated film adaptation.

The Tikbalang is a creature from Philippine folklore that tends to lead travelers astray. For the purpose of this project, "The Tikbalang" becomes a central metaphor for the impulse (in all of us) to avoid problems and to escape from reality.

Stay tuned for more about this project in the days to come.

WHERE THERE’S SMOKE
I see smoke - Rising through Balete trees
I see smoke - Bet you’re sending me a sign
I see your red eyes, cigars, great Kapre
Where there’s smoke

I feel smoke - Huddling here beside your fire
I feel smoke - Cloaking me from harm
I feel it wrapping its arms around me
Where there’s smoke

Higher / Higher / Higher / Higher / Fire

I smell smoke - Sending up a warning flare
I smell smoke - But it’s choking the alarm
I smell a burning it’s deep inside me
Where there’s smoke (3x)
Smoke


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CoV0Mb5lFw