You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RIP Chick Corea - Haiku - And an Introduction to the Piece That Placed Him Firmly on My Own Jazz Radar

in #music3 years ago

Oh I hadn’t heard about his passing. A sad day indeed! I came across your post as I’m shutting my eyes for the night but will commit to listening to Bolero tomorrow.

Sort:  

Let me know what you thought of it, whether hearing it after a long absence, or for the first time.

I noted immediately that the piece leaves me every bit as moved today as it did on that first day I heard it, dare I say it? Some forty years ago. Doesn't even seem possible.

It really is an incredible piece. Small world story... my late brother-in-law was his sound manager for some time back in the 1970's. My sister is in touch now with friends all over the world about Chick's passing.