What is Hardcore and why it means that much to me?

in #music4 years ago

So you ever know that feeling like you don't belong somewhere you get in a place and everyone shows this a place you should be at? This is probably my first hardcore-punk show. Music that was about something, bands that had something to say. Written for a reason and with a meaning. And every song felt like we can't feel like this alone, in the sense that we can't be the only one feeling a certain way.

Veganism, feminism, brotherhood, self-reflection it was all things that I was either raised with or that were completely amplified within Hardcore. It was where I taught that taking care of myself was a need. It was where I learned to take my place and be happy with who I am. It was also the place I found true love, I found family, brotherhood. But above all it was the place that teaches me DIY, ethics and utilizing my full potential. And that I am worth it to utilize my full potential. It's not just music it's culture a culture I like to share. Be that the old school like Agnostic Front, Shelter, Bad Brains & Cromags. The generation before me in bands like Stick To Your Guns, Counterparts, Suicide Silence and such. Or the bands we may be coming up with or not.


(my current band, No Teacher No Pupil)

Now let's take a tripdown memory lane?

The group I was with during Jera-On-Air (Holland's biggest Hardcore, Punk & Metalcore festival)

Now let's go back step by step, Hardcore is a broad gerne of music including Digital Hardcore/Breakcore. I will share some photo's of how I changed but the music was with me all this time.


Our start as No Teacher No Pupil spring 2019


(RK9, Breakcore set during 35C3 the biggest hacker/activist confference of Europe) December 2018


(Writing acoustic at my mom, March 2014)


(Joeri Damian, solo project with band, March 2014)


(Break ADX, recording guitar, November 2013)


(RK9, breakcore set during Baroeg Band Marathon, 2013)


(nothing just a banjo at random 2012)


(Dinosaurs Eating Plants, grindcore, 2012)


(7 eyes split/session musician for a couple of bands, 2011)

And that isn't even everything. I missing 2 bands and one side-project of those two.

Sort:  

Thank you for using the #diy tag. This post has been manually rewarded with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote with our @build-it.curator account. You can buy, stake, and exchange our "BUILD" tokens for steem on steem engine and Steem Leo's exchange

Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself.

Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram. Are we adding value ? your witness vote will be appreciated! Click here to vote