The Evolution Of African Music, Gradually loosing grip

in #music5 years ago

Am sure most of you who follow my write up have noticed my absense for a while, well it wasn't a deliberate gesture it just so happened that in being the adventurous me a price had to be paid and sorry you guys had to miss me. Well that for those who did.

image
image source

This past few weeks has been amazing as I have been traveling from one state to the other meeting new people and getting exposed to new cultures and most importantly new sounds.

At the time of writing this am currently on my way back to Lagos state where I reside, after spending two amazing weeks in Akwa ibom state (Nigeria).

I was out working on several musical projects for several artists and it took majority of my time, if you know me well enough you would know that music is my life. One of what posed as an issue while I spent most of my days and nights(sometimes) at the studio was the fact that at a time like this where our world is evolving and there's a whole lot of this to address through our music the African music is gradually loosing it's savor. What happened to the days we so much adored? the days of the like of the late Fela Kuti a legend who through his music reach out and gave Nigerians a voice even in the midst of diverse challenges.

image
image source

Its sadening to see that our "New Generation" musicians are loosing it entirely and I'm conpeled to ask is this as a result of the global evolution that's taking place in the media where almost every content on Audio and Visual must have a sexual appeal? I mean you cannot watch a music video without seeing a large number of naked/half naked girls displaying for reasons I do not still understand. Don't get me wrong I'm not trying to morally probe the music industry of today but mehn what has happened to Good music? what happened to musicians who were not afraid to stand for something and also effectively utilize their God given gifts through their music to make the world a better place. Let's look at the likes of the legendary Michael Jackson (of blessed memories) with music's such as "BLACK OR WHITE" HEAL THE WORLD was able to cut across cultures and send a profound message that even in death those sounds and the messages it holds still live within our hearts. Or should we talk of Whitney Houston? who's music stood for sometime and let's not forget Bob Marley.

I'm personally proud of how afican sound has evolved and we are having some great and exceptional talent dash into the scene

My point is in a bid to appeal to the majority of the fans desires we gradually dilute the true essence of Music. Music is beyond what we see and hear. Music is life...
Am also not saying that there's no one dishing out good content these days all I'm saying is the more bad drops has spoilt the pond. Your music is your voice, Use it widely.

#iStandwithGreatSounds

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello @josefpius, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!