Recording Your First Song

in #music5 years ago

Before I begin, let me tell you that the recording studio will NOT be glossy white, organized or full of iMacs...

The first time I recorded one of my original songs I was fourteen. I thought I was very prepared; song book in one hand, guitar case in the other. I had practiced the song with my drummer (my dad) and my bassist (my dad's friend) and had warmed up my voice. Physically, I was ready. Mentally, not so much. I never thought that the recording process would reveal so much about myself.

1 . To prepare for entering a studio setting for the first time, make sure you have your song ready. It seems basic but is quite crucial - don't waste your money on "letting the studio work its magic", there will be plenty of that. Practice your song, try changing things, perform it in front of others and ask for critique.
2 . Recording your song will be a performance for the engineers and producers. Be prepared for them to give you critique - you will have to make tough decisions to throw out parts based on your performance.

Song is ready? Check. Well-rehearsed and open to critique? Check.

I had performed my song but never in a setting like this. Instead of waiting for cheers and applause I had to wait for a "yes" or a "do it" again. Even the most wonderful team and prepared artist will have to record a few takes. Just remind yourself that it is all part of the process!

3 . Make the people you're working with feel comfortable. This is not the time to try and blurt out every weird fact or conspiracy theory you have. Instead, try listening to them and making them feel heard by asking questions or repeating certain choice words. A big part of recording is also being transparent with your recording crew. Make sure they know your message, goals and emotions with your song.
4 . The studio doesn't have to be a stale and serious place, it shouldn't be a party either. Please do not drink when recording! You want to get the best material, not the most energetic material. I don't care if Miller High Life makes you play that solo right.

Comfortable crew? Check. Sober? Check.

It is nice to throw out a reference once and a while. I broke the ice with the recording team by mentioning Thin Lizzy - which of course prompted the "how the hell does a fourteen-year-old girl know about Thin Lizzy?" question.

Now that your environment and song are set, here is the hard part.
5 . You have to be hyper-aware of your intentions in the song. Not expectations, intentions. You should be asking yourself questions like:
What is my message?
What is the strongest part of my song?
What emotions play into this song?

Then, turn them into "how" questions:
HOW can I emphasize my message?
HOW can I change my playing/singing to make this part strong?
HOW can I translate my emotions into my music?

You do not need to change any part of the core songwriting to find the answers! The most important part is being open to your emotions.
6 . In case you missed it, songwriting is emotional! Do not be afraid to be emotional in front of these engineers.

One of the biggest mistakes I made with recording is hiding my emotions. This first song I recorded, "Never Comfort", was a breakup song. A trashy, slightly disingenuous fourteen-year-old's breakup song but a breakup song nonetheless. The breakup made me feel angry and hurt and I refused to let that show enough in my recording because I thought it made me weak. When I realized this, I knew it was ridiculous. It took recording and releasing this song to make me notice that "being weak" was in issue for me, not just in music.
This is the great thing about recording - it is helpful in many ways to hear yourself and critique yourself.
I didn't need to bawl in the studio to display emotion, but I could've sat down with my lyrics and highlighted words that were emotionally charged. I realized about 2 years later that my emotion is mostly in my voice; changing my tone with words I want to accent is my strength. Take some time to pinpoint where your emotion is shown.

7 . My last bit of advice is quite positive; go in and have no expectations.
It is reasonable to want to get the most done with your time but there is no need to give yourself a strict timeline. The recording could flop, it happens sometimes. When you plan on recording a 20 song album and one recording goes sideways you don't want to be devastated.
Just keep it simple, record a song and see where it goes.

Sort:  

I must admit, I've never had the opportunity to record in a studio. Of course, where I live, there isn't a professional recording studio within probably 100 miles, and the couple of studios that I know of are rather small.
The first recordings that I did were in the early 1990s on a 4 track cassette deck, the quality of those recordings is about what you would expect from that kind of equipment.

Lower quality recordings are really fantastic if they are marketed properly. If the images you use match your sound, people may really enjoy it! Sometimes an audience isn't looking for a super glossy sound.
Good luck! Would love to hear your work sometime!

Thank you!
I've posted some of my music on my steemit page if you're interested. I also have a soundcloud page for my home recorded music. I use the freeware computer program "Audacity" for my recordings now. Audacity has certain limitations, but it works well enough for recording tracks.

I must say a big thank you for such post. It’s as if the post was made for me as a novice in the recording aspect of music production and making as a whole. Here are some good tips that would definitely be a box of treasure of an advice.
You’re appreciated for this, if you’d be willing to see my work as a beginner I could share them in comments only if you’re are willing to see. Keep steeming and touching lives

I would love to see your work! Thank you so much! Recording norms and etiquette are super important - I will definitely make more posts like this!
Thank you for being open to sharing your work!

Yeah, still awake, haha, check. Yeah, a good balance is needed. When you are serious in recording, you gotta be as focused as possible.

Congratulations @josietrueblood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!