"Three Brains", The First Single From The '60s-Inspired Alternative Rock Album by Josie Trueblood

in #music5 years ago

Three Brains Demo Cover.jpg

This is The Wall on North Stevens street. When I was writing this song, my friends at the time always spoke about going there, though we never did. I went months after I recorded "Three Brains" to see what it was.

I was fairly disappointed - it was a grimy smoke spot covered with torn Swisher Sweets wrappers. They had built it up to be this beautiful place. It was, but desolate as well.

F686DFE6-8672-4BE8-B1CF-3D5217AB196D.JPG

I wrote "Three Brains" in the winter of 2017 while sitting in an ex-boyfriend's disgusting apartment. It was as gross as The Wall; covered in Hot Pocket boxes and wet clothing. He was attempting to play an F chord on guitar but was missing his third finger placement. I remember grabbing the shitty acoustic from him and writing the chords there. Luckily, he was so absent minded that he didn't notice that I stole his dissonant F chord.

The lyrics came after being left unattended by him at a few too many sketchy parties. I realized I was passive about having an unfulfilling and unsavory lifestyle.

I ended up recording the song in February, and ditching the bad boyfriend. This was the turning point of my recording process - it became apparent that my songs would become an album.

Here are the lyrics - go ahead and critique away! I keep everything a little cryptic...

Sensory deprived when my three brains align
Every person, every distraction can’t be mine
Does my own discomfort mean I am growing?
‘Cause it hurts like hell and I’m starting to love it
I’m starting to love it

He whispers politely "she’s gone off the rails"
As if he was talking, it’s all in her head

New directions give you new complexion
Why say a thing when you could be silent?
Not so venerable but an oil painting
Just a bit too bright for my dull taste
For my dull taste

He whispers politely "she’s gone off the rails"
As if he was talking, it’s all in her head
He whispers politely "she’s gone off the rails"
As if he was talking, it’s all in her head

Oh, I love it!

He whispers politely
She’s gone off the rails
As if he was talking
It’s all in my head

I've released the demo on Bandcamp and Soundcloud. This is the first peek at my 10 song album. Check it out if you'd like!

Bandcamp - https://josietrueblood.bandcamp.com/releases \

Soundcloud - https://soundcloud.com/josie-trueblood/three-brains

Sort:  

Hi @josietrueblood
i dropped by to see how you were doing, but it has been a while since you posted or commented.

So now I'm wondering what happened and if you're still active. You started out so great.

Could you plz drop me a note when you read this? Just leave a short comment on one of my posts. I'd like to know if you're still around and like this place or absolutely hate it ;0)

@

Hello! I am still active - just had a very busy couple of days and was out of town!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hey @josietrueblood/

I've been going through your posts, and I thought it would be a shame that you get limited by your lack of resource credits.

I delegated 35SP to your account, so you have a little more freedom to post and comment without running out of Resource credits.

I'll be publishing a post later today or tomorrow in which I'll explain it all and give you some tips on how to grow your account. I'll be tagging you in it, so keep an eye out (you can get notifications of mentions through the Partiko app or via Ginabot)

Woah! Thank you!
How do I earn resource credits? I'm a bit new here...
I really appreciate it!

Your amount of RC is attached to your amount of SP. So the more SP you get, the more RC you get. So.it's all just a matter of growing that Steempower. I've been suffering from.the flu these last couple of days... I hope I'll be strong enough tomorow to get a post with tips ouy

I like the slide guitar and vocals are great. You have a nice deepdark quality to your voice

Thank you! My voice is surprisingly resonant. I appreciate your support!

Thanks for sharing this song with us.

Great song, definitely like your voice and sound. Look forward to hearing some more. Welcome to the site!

That's a cool song! I really like the vibe of it.

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @josietrueblood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi josietrueblood,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Lovely song you have there. In fact am taking a line or two for any sweet girl I met today..... Lol
Cool music and keep up your writing spirit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @josietrueblood! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @josietrueblood! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!