THE LOVE OF INDEPENDENT MUSIC | Indie's Awesome!

in #music6 years ago

There's always something in independent music that captures my soul. I feel like I find more than comfort in this kind of music. The feeling of listening to it is inexplicable. It always blows me away listening to great independent music artists. (How I wish I had also the talent which they possess.)

I associate creativity with independent music. - MIGUEL

As it is not mainstream, the beat or the melody or the style or even the instrumentation is not done to suit the taste of the mainstream audience. It doesn't adhere to pop culture that most mainstream artists do and are forced by their major record label to alter their style or limit their creativity in order to satisfy the majority, thus making themselves and their music more profitable. It's all about money. (I have nothing against mainstream artists though.)

What is Independent Music/Indie?

Basically the term independent music or indie music or simply indie refers to music that is produced freely from major record labels like Universal, Warner, SONY Music Entertainment and their subsidiaries. Indie music is produced in an autonomous or DIY (do-it-yourself) way from recording to publishing.

However, the word indie can also be referred to a genre of music. You might have heard the terms, indie rock, indie folk, & indie pop .

Unlike mainstream music like that of pop and RnB, indie is not as commercialized as the aforementioned genres and does not usually reach a wider range of audience but the creativity, the rawness of the talent of the artists, the style, the sound, and the lyrics are beyond compare. Indie artists may not be as profitable as the famed ones but for me they have just brought a different kind of art in the field of music - redefining what "real music" is about. Well, I'm not a musician and not an expert in music but that's how I see independent music artists.

(Well some artists in the indie genre are under subsidiaries of major record labels but more often than not, some of them can freely retain their music style or creativity, I guess the restrictions, if there are, are clearly stated on their contract.)

Anyhow, here's the list of independent music genre or artists that I've been loving a lot because of the poetic sense, the poignant emotion that exudes from the song, the raw talent, the instrumentation, and the genuineness.

1. SYML which means "simple" in Welsh. Behind that screen name is the artist Brian Fennel. His songs are heavily influenced by complex emotions. Below is the song that breaks your heart in tiny pieces.

Where's My Love - SYML

2. Of Monsters and Men - a five-member band from Iceland who got their prominence after winning the annual battle of the bands in Iceland. Their first album My Head Is An Animal puts them in an international arena. Well, they're my personal favorite in songwriting as all of their songs are beautifully and poetically-written. <3

Your Bones - Of Monsters and Men

3. RY X - An Australian singer/songwriter and musician whose name is Ryan Cuming believes that an artist is not bound by culture and nationality. His songs are very personal that mostly composed of metaphors and analogies. His haunting vocals rock!!!

Berlin - RY X

4. Bon Iver - An American indie folk band who is known for the single Skinny Love from the album For Emma, Forever Ago. Justin Vernon is behind that emotional and earthy vocals that music lovers can't get enough of.

Skinny Love - Bon Iver

5. Day Wave - an American indie rock band originally from Oakland, California. Jackson Phillips is the sole member of the band. He's just accompanied by other musicians for live performances. His guitar skills are freaking awesome!

Total Zombie - Day Wave

6. Dustin Tebbut - He's an Australian singer/songwriter who is now based in Sweden. His song features solitariness and his huge musical influence is Bon Iver. The song The Breach has perfect instrumentation accompanied with soothing voice which is perfect for travelling.

The Breach - Dustin Tebbutt

I do still have plenty of indie music and artists that I'm rooting for and I will write about them one by one next time. But for now, this cut is my personal favorite. Since I feel the need to write about indie music to justify what I wrote in my profile, saying that I'm into this kind of music, surely I will write passionately about indie in the future.

How about you? Is indie your cup of tea?

Sources: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Disclaimer: I don't own any of the videos. All the ownership rights belong to the rightful owners.

Sort:  

Wooow curied oh! Good choice of music, akong gipaminaw run, relaxing kaayo :D

Haha chamba ra oi! Thanks for listening, nindut jud and indie haha

Skinny love is one of my favorites indie music in your list. It gives me a nostalgic feeling whenever I can hear this song.
At first , I couldn't understand why the song writer describes the love as skinny til I searched and discovered the meaning about the song. Indeed, love should be nourished and nurtured not just to a partner but as well as the love of family and friends. 😍😘

I couldn’t agree more!

Congratulations @julsmlz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!