Happy birthday to me! It rocked!! Literally

in #music β€’ 6 years ago

Saturday was my birthday. I turned 34 😳😜

The local radio station and a local bar put together an event called Roxstock. On my birthday! Like it was a huge party just for me πŸ˜‚
The line up included Ded, New Year's Day, P.O.D. & In This Moment.

PicsArt_01-29-12.16.45.jpg

We got there early so we could get up front. But as we're walking up to the stage we reach a barricade. They have a ridiculous amount of space blocked off for VIP... Seriously, WTF?

IMG_20180127_184531502.jpg

Up first was DED, a nu metal band from Arizona. I really enjoyed their set! They were hard. The kind of music you want to bang your head to. They put on a good show. I had to find their album after the show on Amazon Music so I can listen to them more. 🀘🀘

Live music gives me the feels. The beat pounding in my chest. The strong scent of marijuana in the air. The awesome energy of the crowd, just a bunch of people getting together to rock! The adrenaline of the mosh pit! I don't partake but even standing next to it gets my blood pumping!

Next up was New Years Day. The lead singer is this tiny chick with a big voice. They were pretty cool but the audio kept going out so I can't say that it was a good show.

With P.O.D. coming up next we decide that we need to do something about our proximity to the stage. We decide to jump the barricade. I look around. There are a couple cops about 20ft away, but they're just standing around talking. I sloppily hike my leg over and kinda roll my body in a ridiculous effort to be nonchalant. As soon as I'm over I rush into the crowd near the stage. If anyone saw me they'll never find me in the crowd. It was exhilarating πŸ˜‚

20180128_204642-ANIMATION.gif

Finally! We can see the stage and enjoy the show. P.O.D. was fun. It took me back. Dude couldn't hit the high notes but he played it off well, he just let the audience sing them. I found it amusing that a bunch of middle aged people were chanting, "We are, We are, the youth of the nation”. Still, P.O.D. rocked!

The headliner was In This Moment. Personally I'm not a fan of all the theatrics. She must have had at least 6 wardrobe changes πŸ™„πŸ™„
Please. Keep your clothes on and play/sing some music.

IMG_20180127_213106282_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

20180128_233545-ANIMATION.gif

Screenshot_20180129-121051.png

IMG_20180127_214423897_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

IMG_20180127_225759834_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

My favorite part of their set was when she went away to change her clothes (again!) and the band jammed. They mashed up songs like The BeeGees Staying Alive and AC/DC Back In Black. It was epic. Maybe someone will throw it on YouTube.

Sunday I had a birthday dinner with my family.

They asked me what I wanted and I was like, Prime rib!! I didn't actually expect to get it!

PicsArt_01-28-08.24.46.jpg

Not only did they make me prime rib, but it was amazing!!!

PicsArt_01-28-10.21.12.jpg

I also got ice cream cake. There are few things in this world better than ice cream cake - just my opinion. 😁

PicsArt_01-28-10.20.09.jpg

It was a good birthday weekend!!
<3 justjessica

Sort: Β 

How cool is that? I love In this moment, but her theatrics are a bit distracting, i agree with you there. And ice cream cake!! That sounds pretty awesome. Happy birthday!

Thanks! I think this was the 3rd time I've seen In This Moment in concert. I wish rock concerts occurred more often in my area. I think it's good for the soul.

Happy belated!! Great post. It sounds like it was a fun concert, I'm glad you found your way to the front :) I'll have to check out DED, sounds like you enjoyed their set.

Nothing better than a good concert, and some good food!

Thanks! The birthday was far better than I expected. At 34 you just don't expect much celebration. But life is what we make it 😊