You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Songwriting Process

in #music6 years ago

I put together songs in a similar way... Get that initial inspiration, get stuck in a song for awhile, and then go with the ebb and flow of your creative juices after that. Maybe come back to it and edit over the course of some months (or years). There's no shame in giving songs/art pieces/whatever you're doing time to breathe - in fact I find that giving tracks space is exactly what they need more often than not. Ear fatigue is real, and it will stop you from keeping a fresh outlook on your piece. I think taking time away from my songs and coming back later helps me listen to my songs more like the average listener would, which helps me find things I want to change that I wouldn't normally find after I listen to them nonstop for 5 hours and they become stale.

Sort:  

Ear fatigue! I never heard that word but I understand it so deeply! I just wish the gestation period wasn’t so long sometimes but I guess if I keep picking up the guitar every day it will be. I used to have a problem where I wouldn’t feel like playing for weeks at a time when I had other stuff going on which was always, but I think I’m over that.

Do you put your own tracks up? I saw you have some covers. I’ll pay go take another look.

Ear fatigue and general fatigue, the scourge of every musician :) I have some originals I'll start spitting out here on Steemit soon! Most are instrumental blues, rock, jazz, and hip hop. Thanks for your reply and support, happy playing, m8!