COVER TIME: Alanis Morissette classic "Thank U"

in #music6 years ago

Just think: Alanis decided to use the U in place of You before texting exploded and rap took over the music scene. #trendsetter

I always enjoyed the strange and characteristic way she would sing and write the syllables of the words--one of the quirks that made her famous.

Hope you enjoy! :)

(I've been enjoying checking out a lot of your blogs! Please comment below and I promise I'll go and take a look at what you've been up to the last few days :).)

Thank U - Alanis Morissette

How 'bout getting off of these antibiotics
How 'bout stopping eating when I'm full up
How 'bout them transparent dangling carrots
How 'bout that ever elusive kudo

Thank you, India
Thank you, terror
Thank you, disillusionment
Thank you, frailty
Thank you, consequence
Thank you, thank you, silence

How 'bout me not blaming you for everything
How 'bout me enjoying the moment for once
How 'bout how good it feels to finally forgive you
How 'bout grieving it all one at a time

Thank you, India
Thank you, terror
Thank you, disillusionment
Thank you, frailty
Thank you, consequence
Thank you, thank you, silence

The moment I let go of it
Was the moment I got more than I could handle
The moment I jumped off of it
Was the moment I touched down

How 'bout no longer being masochistic
How 'bout remembering your divinity
How 'bout unabashedly bawling your eyes out
How 'bout not equating death with stopping

Thank you, India
Thank you, providence
Thank you, disillusionment
Thank you, nothingness
Thank you, clarity
Thank you, thank you, silence

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
P.S. If you enjoyed this, here is one of my originals that I'd love to share with you - a bit of a lullaby :).

Thank you so much for following @kayclarity and resteeming, commenting, and upvoting if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. I love sharing with you all. xx

Sort:  

You have such an amazing voice! And you did a great job with Alanis' song! Are you a member of the Steemit Local Music Society on Discord yet? It's a great place to meet and talk with other musicians!

I haven't gotten involved on Discord much at all yet; I find it so overwhelming already! But I will keep it in mind! :)

Thank you for the compliment as well! Checking out your blog now :). xx, Kay

Awesome! Well let me know if you do and I can help! Steemit and Discord are both a huge learning process but definitely worth it! ;) Steemit more than Discord, but yeah... Haha! Discord is just a chat room (or rooms) where us musicians share our music and discuss musical stuff!

Pitch perfect as always, you have a truly wonderful singing style and vocal talent.

:). Thank you!! Went and perused your blog a lil bit, friend :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Aw, yay - thank you!

This is one of my favourite Alaina Morisette songs & you nailed it!

Thank U, for sharing!

Your lovely voice brought this song back to my consciousness. I didn't realize how mindful Alanis was being in this song.

Hey there :) Love Alanis-- awesome version of this :)