COVER TIME: "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" (Israel Kamakawiwo'ole version, by request)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

What a deliciously, wonderfully sad song (said the melancholic songwriter, as she sighed and tossed her head to one side).

I can't remember who requested this a long time ago, but here it is! I really enjoyed recording this one.

Somewhere Over the Rainbow (Israel Kamakawiwo'ole version)

Ooooo oooooo oooooo
Somewhere over the rainbow
Way up high
And the dreams that you dreamed of
Once in a lullaby
Somewhere over the rainbow
Blue birds fly
And the dreams that you dreamed of
Dreams really do come true
Someday I'll wish upon a star
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top thats where you'll find me

Oh somewhere over the rainbow bluebirds fly
And the dreams that you dare to, oh why, oh why can't I?
Someday I'll wish upon a star
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top thats where you'll find me
Somewhere over the rainbow way up high
And the dreams that you dare to, why, oh why can't I?

(Still checking out the blogs of commenters and upvoters! I'm a little behind but promise I will be doing that all this week - really enjoying seeing what you are all up to!)

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
P.S. New cover up yesterday (Alanis Morissette!)!. I'd love to share it with you. And here are some of my favourite recent photos of gorgeous California roses, and thoughts on the ache of beauty.

Thank you so much for following @kayclarity and resteeming, commenting, and upvoting if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. I love sharing with you all. xx

Sort:  

Beautiful voice!

Thank you!

Honestly, you're very talented

I appreciate that. Thank you for listening and commenting!

Amazing version! And your voice is amazing

Thank you! Yes, I love this version. Thanks for listening and the kind words xx, Kay

I heard this song way too often while hearing radio, but your version sounds very nice I like the sadness emotion you put into it. I really enjoyed it, thanks for that beautiful piece of work! :)

That's so nice to hear. Thank you! Yes, I do have a penchant for sadness--hopefully in a peaceful, comforting way, thought :). Thanks for listening and commenting! xx, Kay

Your voice is super lovely and goes with this song beautifully <3

A beautiful performance of a very difficult song to do well! Loved it!

Thank you! I do very much appreciate it and am glad you enjoyed! xx, Kay

A beautiful performance of a difficult song to do well!

Thank you, darling!

Loved it!

Another lovely gift to steemians, wow you have such incredible range.