VINTAGE KAY CLARITY: "As I Run" (original song)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I originally posted this in 2011 when I was studying and living in Europe, and I did share it earlier on when I was new to Steemit, but wanted to discuss the song a little.

I am a poet. I love the mystery and meaning that can be conveyed by both a particular choosing of words and by the intentional leaving of certain things vague--for here we communicate to the intuitive in the human heart and bypass the "guards of the intellect," I've heard it called. We can say more by saying less, particularly when those words are joined to the power of melody and music.

This was a song about disillusionment with the world--something that was sort of my side kick for a lot of my life. I am the classically melancholic singer-songwriter--sensitive to the world, my environment, what people are thinking/feeling, and I tend to bear it all and get heavy and sad EASILY.

I have to say I'm a bit passed that now, incredibly, blessedly. Getting older, if it is done intentionally and you aren't afraid to face the hard things in yourself, others, and the world, is actually really incredible. With age, for those consciously seeking to be whole, there comes experience and wisdom. Things aren't easy, but we can handle them very differently.

The last line is "One day love will conquer this heart," and it's amazing to think that I feel that reality happening; that the fear and the sadness no longer have the same hold they once did as I grow into a new confidence and experience of reality.

Of course, for me as your resident Messy Catholic, this is interwoven with my experience of faith. Maybe one day I'll share bits and pieces of that, because I actually have some incredible stories in that regard.

For now, here's my song. Lyrics below.

As I Run - Kay Clarity

I have been reduced to this skin and these bones
The only thing still standing strong are these walls
Why has hope hid his mighty face?
I cannot see why light has left this place

I often wonder why words can't speak themselves
Gracefully pass by our unclean mouths
Now I'm just one breakable grin
Deaf to sound and silent to the din

The restless space awaits me as I run from love again

I still see shadows of the ghost I've left behind
Waiting in the stillness of my dreams unspoken
So much left to be watchful of here
So many ways I must cast out that fear

The dimming mirror reflects me as I run from love again

But love will overtake me
Love will conquer me
Love will overtake me
Love will conquer me
Love will overtake me
Love will conquer me
One day love will conquer this heart

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
P.S. I'd love to share more with you! If you enjoyed this, you might really enjoy this song my Nelly Furtado that I covered or my version of Israel Kamakawiwo-ole's "Somewhere Over the Rainbow".

I love sharing with you all, and try to check in regularly on the blogs of those who upvote and comment, as much as I can. Thank you so much for following @kayclarity and resteeming, commenting, and upvoting if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

Yay, Vintage Kay - Love it!!

Big smile!

One of my favs from your older work! <3

Gets better towards the end of the song, when you make melody, it should fit your voice like a glove

Yeah, I was still pretty young here and my voice was still maturing :). Almost 7 years ago!

Color me smitten with your voice here! Simply alluring and sweet.

So glad you enjoy it! Thanks for your comment and for listening :)

I do! I was playing it in the background as I was working on my computer. :D

so beautiful..

one other thing.. whats a messy catholic?

Glad you enjoyed!

:). Good question! Someone who lives as a Catholic authentically, mess and all. I love my faith, but I, as everyone, am a messy, imperfect person. I am guided by the ideals of my faith, but don't always live up to them. I just do my best! xx, Kay

My rational mind asks,"Did love ever finally overtake your heart?" My right side of the brain says, "Hey, I've been through that!" Is that weird?

Makes sense to me :)

Kay dear, I always look forward to your materials bring it on.

Thank you! :). So glad to share. Just put another one up!