Sort:  

Warning! This user is on my black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
To get off this list, please chat with us in the #steemitabuse-appeals channel in steemit.chat.

Excellent post! I love Puccini's operas and my favorite is Madama Butterfly (3 acts!) ^_^

Madama Butterfly was my first Opera ever! I was ten, and the production was horribly modern. Even the great music of Puccini didn't find any resonance with me that time. But musical taste evolved and now Puccini is one of my favorite composers. I love Tosca and La Bohème. And I like the deep and dramatic music of Wagner, especially the Ring.

Few months ago I watched the Butterfly on my tv, there was the premièr at La Scala of Milan and thanks to the live television everyone here has been able to watch this opera! It's was fantastic! As you, I love Tosca and Bohème too. The music of Wagner always touches my soul!

That's great! I have a special remembrance connected with La Scala. I got some tickets for the rehearsal of Mahler's second with maestro Claudio Abbado. An my wife an me spent three days in Milano for our honeymoon only for that purpose, but unfortunately Abbado got ill and the representation got cancelled. But Milano was fun anyhow!

Sorry that you couldn't watched the representation with Abbado (Great Maestro!), but Milano is ever a wonderful place for an honeymoon ;)

I always enjoy performing arts but have never been to an opera specifically due to the language issue- had no idea they subtitled nor was I aware that any operas were either written or performed in English but i'll be keeping my eyes peeled in the future and will be looking to be a first timer. I LOVE live symphony orchestra so it can't be all that bad- thanks for the insight- great post!

Thank you @kuvo for this long and inspiring post! There are some points where I don't agree. First operas in my Theatre in Wiesbaden don't cost 60 to 160 Euros, except for the premieres. You can get a good seat for the same prize as a ticket for the cinema. Second, Operas haven't been written fro the masses, they have since the classical period been written for the elite, higher class people who could afford the garderobe and the tickets. Third, even if the opera is in German, I sometimes don't even understand a word. And I never've read the libretto in advance. I enjoy the music and it's enough to read a description of the plot so you can follow it. But the whole production, the music, the sound, the smell of the theater, the musicians, the conducter, the artist and the stage together make very good impression. So you don't need to understand every word. And I don't like translated Operas also. It's like hearing Mary Poppins or West Side Story in German. Awful! For those who haven't been in an opera, just go there and try, and if you didn't like it for the first time, try another one. In most cases you won't get disappointed!