“Because You Love Me,” by Kaz Hawkins and Her Band O' Men … (Blues / Roots / Soul – Music to Your Ears–61)

in #music4 years ago

She survived and recovered, with the help of music.

Kaz Hawkins and Her Band O’ Men – “Because You Love Me”

“Because You Love Me” (2015)

Although this is clearly a love song, its sentiment is unlike that of any typical love song. Kaz Hawkins urges her “loved one”  to leave, to pack “all the things you had,”  and to set out to find “bigger seeds to sow.”  

Love Me and Leave Me

Hawkins apparently composed “Because You Love Me”  for her daughter, who was about to set off for university. While the loving mother is certainly sad to see her beloved child leave home, she knows that it’s for the best. The daughter will learn, change, and grow.  

The parting may be intensely sorrowful. Nevertheless the mother urges the girl to go – “because you love me so.”   (Image source)

Kaz Hawkins and Her Band O’ Men

Kaz Hawkins is a Belfast-born blues and soul singer / songwriter who is currently based in England.  

Life Lessons

As evident from her impassioned vocals, Kaz’s alma mater is the school of hard knocks. She suffered abuse both as a child and as an adult. As a result, she became depressed, alcoholic, and suicidal.

With the help of music, Kaz survived and recovered. She picked up a guitar, and started turning her journal entries into lyrics. For 2 decades, she sang in a cover band, until she started composing her own songs.   (Image source)

Healing Music

Besides performing and recording, Kaz is an active supporter of mental health awareness.    

Over the past 5 years or so, Kaz has won numerous awards, including the 2016 “Album of the Year”  award from the “International Blues Broadcasters Association.”

Don't wait for me
I'm not going, because I can't leave
I watched for years your strength, your pride
You held the doors as life passed you by
Life just passed you by

Now I can tell you wanna go
Don't think of me, because I can't go
You gotta take the highs with the lows

So don't wait for me
I'm not going, because I can't leave
And don't, don't you dare say no
Just because you love me so

Take with you all the things you had
Just be yourself and don't be sad
Because there's bigger seeds to sow

I'll be beside you every step of the way
I'll hold you up when go astray
Don't worry, it'll be okay

So don't, don't wait for me
I'm not going, because I can't leave
And don't, don't you dare say no
Just because you love me so

So don't, don't wait for me
I'm not going, I'm not going, because I can't leave
And don't, don't, don't, don't you dare say no
Just because you love me so

So don't, don't wait for me
I'm not going, I'm not going, I'm not going, I can't leave
And don't, don't, don't, don't you dare say no
Just because you love me so
  [3x]    (Image source)
Lyrics by Kaz Hawkins, courtesy of – Genius.com
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

More “Music to Your Ears” ...

          Previous posts in this series – "MTYE posts 1–20"
          Previous posts in this series – "MTYE posts 21–40"

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

!COFFEEA $trdo

Congratulations @avare, you successfuly trended the post shared by @majes.tytyty!
@majes.tytyty will receive 0.13969463 TRDO & @avare will get 0.09312975 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

coffeea Lucky you @majes.tytyty here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Congratulations @majes.tytyty, your post successfully recieved 0.13969463 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@avare earned : 0.09312975 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site