“Hand of Kindness,” by Richard Thompson … (Rock / Blues – Music to Your Ears–8)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

O, stranger, stranger, I'm near out of time. You stretch out your hand, I stretch out mine.

Richard Thompson – “Hand of Kindness”

“Hand of Kindness” (1983)

This song appeared on Thompson’s second solo album, itself titled “Hand of Kindness.”  Rolling Stone magazine praised it is as “a richly rewarding record.”

In his biography of Thompson, the writer Patrick Humphries stated that on that album, Thompson "left the darkness behind him and walked out into the light."   

Hands of Kindness, Souls of Compassion 

On this title track in particular, Thompson’s mood is more upbeat and optimistic than usual. Even though the situation may look foreboding and even though he may be running “out of time,”  he’s certain that all we have to do is to reach out our hands to each other – hands of kindness, manifesting the compassion in our hearts and souls. Hopefully, we can reach each other in time.   

Richard Thompson 

Thompson is a British singer / songwriter / guitarist. As a youth, he had listened to the jazz and traditional Scottish music that he found in his father’s record collection.    

When he was only 18, he joined the band Fairport Convention. The Fairport repertoire consisted of mostly cover versions, which Thompson soon became “embarrassed”  about playing. Within a few years, he had emerged as a qualified songwriter, and in 1971, he left the band.    

Since then, he has recorded and toured as a solo artist, as well as with his wife Linda, and, more recently, with his son Teddy – both of whom have brought added talent and creativity to Richard’s work. 

Serving the Spirit of Music, not the Empire 

Thompson has won many awards, including the 2011 Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for “services to music.”   

Since 1974, Thompson has embraced Sufism, the mystic branch of Islam. He has stated that “Music is spiritual stuff, y’know. It’s a very spiritual thing to play music, at any level.”  

Un-Rock’n’Roll

The actor / musician Harry Shearer once said that Thompson is “probably one of the most engaging personas in music. He doesn’t seem very impressed with himself on stage … which is so un-rock’n’roll.”     (Image source)

Well, I wove the rope and I picked the spot
Well, I struck out my neck and I tightened the knot
O, stranger, stranger, I'm near out of time
You stretch out your hand, I stretch out mine

O, maybe just a hand of kindness
Maybe just a hand of kindness
Maybe just a hand
Stranger, will you reach me in time? In time?

Well, I scuppered the ship and I bent the rail
Well, I cut the brakes and I ripped the sail
And they called me a Jonah, it's a sin I survived
And you stretch out your hand, I stretch out mine

Maybe just a hand of kindness
Well, maybe just a hand of kindness
O, maybe just a hand
Stranger, will you reach me in time? In time?

O, shoot that old horse and break in the new
O, the hung are many and the living are few
I see your intention, there's my neck on the line
You stretch out your hand, I stretch out mine

Well, maybe just a hand of kindness
O, maybe just a hand of kindness
Well, maybe just a hand
Stranger, will you reach me in time? In time?

O, maybe just a hand of kindness
Well, maybe just a hand of kindness
Well, maybe just a hand
Stranger, will you reach me in time? In time?
   (Image source)
Lyrics by Richard Thompson, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – YouTube
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Rolling Stone

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

Hi @majes.tytyty

Tremendous song ,. you know, when listening to that song I associate it with marriage, that evokes that letter, JAJAJAJ that's my point of view.

Greetings friend

Hmmm, that's an interesting observation.

Nice post
Since im a guitarist ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @majes.tytyty!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 10 with $ 86,33