“You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin,” covered by Long John Baldry … (Blues / Folk – Music to Your Ears, Covers–29)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

For 22 years, this was "the most-played song,"  and it has been noted for being “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant.”

Long John Baldry – “You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin”

“You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin” (1979 – original from 1964)

Originally recorded by The Righteous Brothers, “You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin”  is one of the most tender, earnest, and heartfelt love songs ever.

Ironically, it’s about a love that has faded and died. It ends with the plaintive plea of the despondent lover for his ex to bring back the love that has irrevocably “gone, gone, gone.” 

The Sound of Success

The song originated with the producer Phil Spector, who became famous for his “Wall of Sound”  recording technique. The version by The Righteous Brothers instantly became a commercial and critical success, reaching Number 1 on both the US and the UK charts in the first few months of 1965.    

“You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin”  has been covered numerous times. However, this fine version by LJ Baldry and Kathi McDonald is the only cover to approach the top of the charts, reaching Number 2 in Australia in 1980. 

A Historic Loss

For the 22 years until 2019, “You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin”  held the record for “the most-played song on American radio and television in the 20th century.”    

On “Rolling Stone”  magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Songs of All Time,”  it comes in at Number 34. Moreover, the Library of Congress has inducted it into the National Recording Registry, noting that the song was "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant."   (Image source)

Long John Baldry

Long John Baldry was a British-Canadian singer who came to prominence in the early 1960s in London. During those early years, he occasionally shared the stage with The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. Moreover, his band members included such future stars as Elton John and Rod Stewart.   

Baldry moved to North America in the late 1970s, eventually settling in Vancouver and becoming a Canadian citizen. After he and Kathi McDonald recorded this song, she joined his touring band, and they continued to perform together for 2 decades. 

Freeing Elton John

In Elton John’s 1975 song “Someone Saved My Life Tonight,”  that specific “someone”  is Long John Baldry.

Several years earlier, Elton had tried to commit suicide. Not only had Baldry found Elton that night and possibly saved his life, but he also helped Elton come to terms with his sexuality – whispering “sweet freedom”  into Elton’s ear.    (Image source)

You never close your eyes anymore when I kiss your lips
There's no tenderness like before in your fingertips
It makes me just feel like crying (oh, baby)
Cause, baby, something beautiful's dying

You've lost that loving feeling
Oh, that loving feeling
You've lost that loving feeling
Now it's gone, gone, gone … Oh, oh, oh

Now there's no welcome look in your eyes when I reach by you
Now you've started to criticize every little thing I do
You're trying hard not to show it (oh, baby)
But, baby, baby, I know it

You've lost that loving feeling
Oh, that loving feeling
You've lost that loving feeling
Now it's gone, gone, gone … Oh, oh, oh

Baby, baby, I’d get right down on my knees for you
If you would only love me, like you used to do, yeah
We had a love, a love, a love you don't find everyday
So darling, darling, darling, don't throw our love away
No, no, no, no

Well, I said, Baby (baby) baby (baby)
Well, baby (baby) oh, baby

I'll bring it on back, child
(Just bring it on back to me)
I'll bring it on back now
(Bring it on back to me)
I said I'll bring it on back
(Well, bring it on, bring it on)
I'll bring it on back now (yeah)

Bring back that loving feeling
Oh, that loving feeling
Bring back that loving feeling
Now it's gone, gone, gone
And I can't go on … Oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh

Bring back that loving feeling
Oh, that loving feeling
Bring back that loving feeling
Now it's gone, gone, gone
And I can't go on
[3x]

        The Righteous Brothers – “You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by Barry Mann / Cynthia Weil / Phil Spector, courtesy of – Genius.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

More “Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears” ...

          Previous posts in this series – "Cover Versions 1–20"  

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

My English not is good, but I can understand some words. This kind music is an inspiration for me to continue studying English. I love its melody. Thank you for share it

Hi friend @majes.tytyty

Again enjoying his good musical choices. A great song and very good theme to enjoy next to the woman I love.

Greetings I send you a hug that crosses many oceans ..

Hello, and thank for your comment. While this version was never a big hit, it's always been one of my favorites. Listening to it these past few days, I realized how great a song it truly is.

Hope you and your dear woman do not "Lose that Loving Feeling." :-)

Awesome song...Hall n Oates did a cover of it

Didnt realize EJ had tried to end it..so glad that plan got foiled

Yep, this song is a true classic. It will certainly make it onto my (forthcoming) Honor Roll.
Neither did I know that EJ had tried to end it all. And I remember hearing that song when I was a kid, cuz a few of my friends listened to his music back in the day.

ohhh que recuerdos tan fantastico, aqui la e escuchado en algunas ocaciones que bueno que la alla compartido en este dia, me gusta mucho su post muy informativo y completo saludos desde venezuela!!

Thanks, and gracias. I don't understand much Spanish, but I can get the gist of your message. Cheers!!

Enjoyed reading it and 💕 listening to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @majes.tytyty!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 4 with $ 87,05

Una letra que atraviesa fronteras vuela entre los corazones que hay un sentir el amor, esa magia que nos traslada mas allá del tiempo y nos permite flotar en un mundo donde solo reinas tu y ella.