The Self-Employed Musician

in #music7 years ago

Or, How to Wear Many Hats

IMG_0356.JPG

For those of us who chose music as a career (either part time or full time) realize that quite often you have to multi-task, or wear many hats as we say in the US. This gives you the ability to have multiple streams of income - which is always a good thing.

Teaching

Early on I worked part time in sales and played music part time.
Once I began teaching, I replaced my sales job with lessons. That process was was not easy, but well worth it. I got better and better at teaching, on my instrument, and developed the people skills needed to be very successful. Before I began the process of building a school and hiring instructors, I already had 75 students. I don't carry a student load like that at the moment, but I do enjoy it.
IMG_0135.JPG

Sell Your Music

With technology (sites like Tunecore and CD Baby), we now have the ability to record and sell music directly to fans with out anything physical having to ever change hands. I hear Steemit may have something similar at some point as well.

Playing Live

The bottom row of pics are after gig shots with Singer Erica Michelle, and on the right bass master Charleston Quinn and Drummer extrordinaire
Tre Balfour.
Playing live is a given-we all know that. There is just nothing like it. But there are many different hats to wear as a live performer.

Busking-Just set up some where with a tip jar and, go for it.
Accompaniment- for singers who only sing at gigs.
Coffee Shop-small singer songwriter type gig.
Band-we are all familiar with this one.
Playing in clubs, bars, etc
Singing in Choirs
Musical Theater

![IMG_3577.JPG](
It's is completely normal ( for me desirable) to wear different hats. We all love our art, and the more ways we have to e press it, the better. This also helps you develop relationships, and put those great people skills you acquired to great use.
Here are some pics with students, friends, fam & fans - people skills go a long way.

IMG_0635.JPG

IMG_9395.JPG

IMG_9833.JPG

Here with longtime friend and author Craig Weber
IMG_0745.JPG

No matter what hat you wear, people skills are the glue that holds it all together. Oh, and don't forget, the money follows your hard work.
Good luck out there!
If I
Missed anything, please share in the comments-let's spread the music.
Thanks ✌🏾
IMG_0444.JPG

Sort:  

music roots.png

😊 It's never too late-go for it. Let me know if you need some pointers.

Awesome post @melbookermusic, keep on steemin' and rockin'!

Oh yes! Thanks!! ✌🏾

Excellent post, as always, you are a big, I am your follower greetings from venezuela

Gracias!!!😊✌🏾

Wicked post @melbookermusic!. You nailed what it is all about!

Thanks so much!! ✌🏾

There ain't no skill like people skills. - And on that note, there just ain't no arguing!