You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My brother joined steemit. :)

in #music6 years ago

That's awesome you have your dad and brother signed up and helping them succeed. They're getting in just before the explosion in sign-ups I think. I've tried to convince my sister to join, but she says "too busy" - though she has time to post to FB eighteen times a day. My older kids also claim to be too busy. I have thought about setting up accounts for my younger girls - they might find tens of thousands of dollars in STEEM in 10-15 years time.

Sort:  

Indeed! I think it's pretty cool, especially the more I think about it! It's like we can all sort of work together and help each other on here. And yeah! I think this is like.. The time right now before steem goes into hyperdrive so to speak... With SMT's that's the first start, and then.. I dunno when steemit is officially going live, but.. I have a feeling they need to extra focus on that now especially as we have news of social media giants like Facebook considering a coin and blockchain stuff.. Steemit in my mind really needs to get out in the market soon before Facebook potentially steals a lot of their thunder.

Don't get me wrong though, I don't think Facebook can ever be steemit, I think they can just prevent a lot of their bleed off into steemit if they adopt a coin and blockchain themselves soon. Though I doubt they'll do blockchain, they are too corrupt. They need to censor stuff..

And heh.. Yeah.. I get similar response when trying to get people to sign up, claiming their too busy yet posting on Facebook all the time.. It can be frustrating.. But that's awesome you're thinking of helping out your younger girls with an account! A little bit could really add up.. I think that would be a nice gift!

Having a bunch of family members and friends here would be awesome. Well, I'm just three weeks or so into my journey here, so I imagine I'll make new friends here. But it would be cool to have some offline friends want to join. Oh well, I guess it will allow me to say "I told you so" in the future. Especially to the ones I talked into buying bitcoin, but haven't been able to get on Steemit.

I'm not worried about Facebook at all. It's a completely different kind of platform, and to be honest we wouldn't want all the nonsense posts here that end up there. I don't know how they could make decentralization work anyway - as you said they need to censor, and they are beholden to their shareholders as a publicly traded company. Not to mention the drain on the rewards pool by scammers and even just the constant nonsense posts over there. I still use it to keep in touch with friends I made while living in Thailand, but for the most part Facebook has become useless. Even their "discovery" engine or whatever you want to call it - the thing that decides what I see in my feed - is completely wonky.