Rainforest Jam with Didgeridoo & Foot drums - by The ONE-MAN FESTIVAL, naTHAN Kaye

in #music6 years ago (edited)


One-man band, naTHAN Kaye - RAINFOREST JAM!
Aside from it's rather straight-forward title, this was a completely improvised and unrehearsed jam, shot by the immensely talented and giving, Arterium.

As with my previous performances, nothing is looped or pre-recorded in this one-man band performance. I am simultaneously playing the 12 string guitar,
Slide-Didge (modern adaptation of the traditional Aboriginal wind instrument known most commonly as didgeridoo),
vocals and
electronic foot drums (homemade from wetsuit, plywood, guitar cables, and contact mics into a drum module).

Musically, it is mostly based around a couple of melodic scales I grew up listening to a lot of, which is found in Jewish, Arabic and Indian cultures...

It's epic (as in super long! Lol)! But those that know my live shows will hopefully be transported back into the sonic explorations of the vibrational world I'm passionate about weaving...

The sung part is akin to a guided visualisation to help clear out all that no longer serves you on this incredible trek of life...

This kind of music is an antidote to the music industry's banal standard of everything needing to be hooky in the first 20 seconds, so this is made for those more sapient people that are able to free themselves of the constant distraction of the modern 7 second attention span and journey upon sonic waves by listening deeply...
It's an invitation to stop the incessant scrolling and just be present... Feel... Breathe... Groove...

By the way, it took a lot of time and energy to produce and edit this, yet offered as a gift, so if you enjoyed, please share it around to spread the good vibes...


I do hope you enjoy this performance!

Thanks so much for listening.
If you felt the vibe of this performance, please do upvote, resteem, follow @nathankaye and comment. I'd really love to hear from you.

Sort:  

For those that enjoyed this video and music performance, but came after the 7 day period, I wanted to post it on one of our decentralised platforms (dLive) rather than Youtube...
It's my first ever dLive post!!
So here it is:
https://dlive.io/video/nathankaye/04b265b0-285d-11e8-a5a6-dd5b02004a6aRainforest-Jam-cover-pic-2.jpg

Your music just gave me chills. Believe it or not this is the type of music I'd play while mediatation or doing a good hour of yoga. You are truly blessed with this art! I really hope you make it big you don't find treasures like this everyday. The uniquesness in your music is hard too find ! All the best with your next performances you've made a new fan :)

What wonderful words to read @newyorkfever! I’m so honoured that you connected with this music and could use it in your quotidian practice.
It’s interesting that you say that because I’ve actually released a whole album of didgeridoo meditation.
Anyway, it’s fantastic to connect with you.
Namaste

Holy smokes this is absolutely incredible.

Much love and respect for sharing your passions and amazing skills with the community.

Thanks so much @chiefmappster!
It’s my pleasure to share my music and passion with you and the community here.
🙏🏽⭐️

You're so welcome.

That's amazing here, looking forward to hear/seeing more and raising my vibrations with your music.

Namaste

Shalom salaam @chiefmappster!
Beautiful! I look forward to sharing much more...
Om Swastyastu (Old Balinese: means exactly the same as Namaste)

O wow thanks for teaching me that.

Can't wait :)

Thank you for this gift! I enjoyed it for half an hour .. which means that I have watched and listened to it twice :) It is so comforting! ...and bees must love music since one bee once did build her nest into my desktop speakers where loud music was running min 10 hours a day. She waited every morning in front of my window for me to open it to get on with her work...that was so cute ..but unfortunately no bees emerged ever ..

Wow! Thank you kindly @psionic-tremors!
You watched the whole thing twice! Amazing!
Your bee story is fascinating! I’ve never heard of a bee behaving that way. Beautiful!
🙏🏽⭐️🌼🌸🌻🌞🐝

so many musical elements in this one.... man your circular breath is incredible! bravo maestro! "bee cam"! btw I wasn't looking at your butt I was trying to read the name on your guitar headstock. Great job @nathankaye

Thank you @gibber!
I’m happy you enjoyed!
Haha you won’t be able to read the headstock whilst looking at the ‘butt cam’ hehe.
I’m sponsored by Coleclark Guitars so all of my guitars are made by ColeClark from sustainably logged and uniquely Australian timbers.
🎸🌟

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.facebook.com/singersongwriterlyricist

great music post.

Cheers! 🙏🏽

Awesome I'm sure you herd of Borneo Music Rain Forest Fest..Its like every year all the musician from all over the world will gather there to have the spark of the festivals... Thanks for the article...Cheers for the bees who love your guitar lol

Thanks terima kasih banyak @dylen!
No, I actually haven’t heard of the Borneo Music Rainforest fest before. I’ll have to look it up and get over there. Hopefully they’ve set it up to help preserve the rainforests.
And how funny is the cute little music-loving Bee?!
Blessings to you

You are most welcome @nathankaye I drop this link http://rwmf.net/performer/stay-tuned/ there will be a 3 days run in July 2018 start on 13 until 18 of July this year. If the nature love your music instantly swarm you thats mean every person would be fall more deep into your love and passion for the music you made..

Thank you so much @dylen! I'll check it out for sure!
Who knows? Maybe I'll play there this year!

wow, thats amazing .. Didgeridoo playing at it best . Loved it

Thank you so much @piyushpathak!
🙏🏽⭐️

Good nice

Thanks 🙏🏽

Wow!! This is super cool! Congrats :)

Thank you 🙏🏽 @naturald!

I think your gigs are going to be part of my daily routine now. You will have a hard time keeping up on all of the comments. Can't say enough about your inspiring life.

Rad! So awesome to hear! Thanks heaps @andrewdaines!
I'll have to make a super regular schedule of shooting new music performances with different instruments!
Cheers buds! 🙏🏽

Wow, one man band. You are very talented @nathankaye. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks so much @jap60!
Blessings to you! 🙏🏽

I love the epic style of music. a real talent!
congratulations

Thank you so much @artizm!
I appreciate that and I’m elated that you enjoyed it!
🙏🏽⭐️💚

Nice to meet you. :)
follow up after that :)

I agree with you about music being medicine, @mountainjewel!
This is the mountain valley cabin I used to live in the rainforest that I was telling you about a week or so ago.
Anyway, this track may resonate...

This is PHENOMENAL! Absolutely love this music and performance! I am amazed at how you made your guitar sound almost like a sitar at the beginning, which is fitting since part of the music was based on an famous raga! I've always found the digeridoo a fascinating instrument and love its droning effect. I so wanted to grab my djembe and play along with you, but couldn't take my eyes of the video! Marvelous, and will definitely be watching this again (probably multiple times!) and sharing the link with others! BRAVO! So glad you were in the MSP-Waves "pirate radio" and r0nd0n played some of your music! 😊

Yay! I'm so happy you found this tune @thekittygirl!
It hasn't garnered as much attention as my Open Mic entries, but this is the heart-vibe that the rest of the music I create centrifugally spins from and then centripetally spins back towards.
The next time you play it, why not pull out your Djembe and jam along?! If you're inspired and feeling that vibe, do it! 🙏🏽🎼

Pirate Radio was fun today. I can't believe I was listening for that many hours actually. Lol! But I discovered a couple of awesome new artists and it was a wonderful surprise and deep honour to have @r0nd0n play a couple of my tunes amidst it all!

Well, I'm stoked that we've connected (I just started following you) here and I look forward to connecting some more...

Hey, I like this a lot! I just found your blog as I am scouring Steemit for all the talented musicians. Your setup is different from the usual one-man-band setups we tend to see. Awesome that you made a diy stompbox too!

Thanks so much!
Yeah, sometimes you just have to DIY things to get the sound and functionality you want.
Great to connect!
🙏🏽🎶⭐️👌🏽🤙🏽

I have a real love for the didj and the profound affects of it. Enjoyed it in many forums, but mostly through the sound vortex of @quinneaker.

I REAAAALLLLY love what you share here. WOW WOW WOW!!! This is some really incredible sound. Your video with the little tag lines if also very intriguing. Way to make this a super top notch experience!

I don't like it that I've arrived too late to upvote and resteem, but I'm following you now @nathankaye. Thank you for sharing this AMAZINGness with Steemit. ASTOUNDING!

Yes, the didge definitely does create profound effects, especially if the player's attunement and intention is in alignment...

I'm delighted & honoured that you were touched by this performance! Thank you so much!

And thank you @everlove for reminding me that I needed to post this again, but using a decentralised platform (dLive) rather than Youtube, so you can upvote and resteem that version here:
https://dlive.io/video/nathankaye/04b265b0-285d-11e8-a5a6-dd5b02004a6a

Great move. Thank you for sharing this soulful expression @nathankaye.