You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Roxy Music'

in #music5 years ago

Excellent choices! I remember being startled by Virginia Plain when I watched it on TOTP as a child - but there were so many other startling acts on at that time - David Bowie, Queen... what a time to be young! I discovered Roxy Music's albums when I was in my 20s, and I played them to death. I still remember some of the words of Out of the Blue, even though I probably haven't heard it in decades. I love the way the intro gradually comes in and builds up and the way that Bryan Ferry's voice just wraps around the music. But I agree that Brian Eno's departure made a huge difference. I hated Angel Eyes when I first heard it, but it grew on me massively. I still love it.
I really got into Fripp and Eno's music later on. A friend told me how it was meant to be almost mind-numbing etc. I came across No Pussyfooting in an old record shop - this was in the late 1980s - and as soon as I played it, I fell asleep. That happened every time I played it, so I started using it as a cure for insomnia - seriously! After a while, the effect wore off and I actually heard the whole album. From then on I loved it!

Sort:  

No Pussyfooting

I can see why this made you fall asleep. I'm a bit of a Fripp fan too, but the little bit I played from the wiki sounds a bit weird!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/(No_Pussyfooting)

(No Pussyfooting)
(No Pussyfooting) is the debut studio album by the British duo Fripp & Eno, released in 1973. (No Pussyfooting) was the first of three major collaborations between the musicians, growing out of Brian Eno's early tape delay looping experiments and Robert Fripp's "Frippertronics" electric guitar technique.
(No Pussyfooting) was recorded in three days over the course of a year. Its release was close to that of Eno's own debut solo album Here Come the Warm Jets (1974), and it constitutes one of his early experiments in ambient music.

Swastika Girls I think. That was the only excerpt I could find from this album. I think I still have it somewhere - I'll try to dig it out, but it would have to be digitised in order to share. Hmm.
It's not one I'd recommend playing in the car.