The Sunshiners – Reggae for Nostalgic GenX’ers

in #music6 years ago

Here's a lazy post, but it sure has more substance than half of the $200 earning crap out there. It brings me joy and if anyone else with memories of the 80s find some value in this on a Saturday morning or afternoon, great.

Maybe someone supports them on one of the streaming services or buys some tracks.

While looking for high quality covers of classic pop songs, I found this band whom I've never heard of before.

They play reggae covers of some of the biggest 80s songs, even some from the "alternative" genre. And they do it quite well.

The roots reggae crowd may find it light, but it is not without substance. Arranging Depeche Mode Caribbean style but straight outta Melanesia? Well fucking done guys.

How about some Rod Stewart?

AC/DC!

The Human League...

There are some more gems in the following playlist, including The Cure and David Bowie. I had to put down the bottle for health reasons, but wouldn't have minded a huge, strong coconut and pineapple rum-based cocktail right now to go with the spliff I'm about to roll.

Sort:  

First video I was like, hey this sounds like proper blues rock the likes I haven't known since Creedence. Glad to hear the style is alive and well!

Yea, I was just having fun with it. Music from your angle meets music from my angle. I think I've found the Sunshiners before in my reggae browsing. Those covers are really good. You reminded me how much I like reggae sometimes. Should listen to it more often.

Great reworkings! In Fact better that the originals -- in all cases!