"My Eyes Lay Open" (c) 2017, 2018 novacadian

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Posting this old tune of mine here for @hendrix22's consideration with his new Steem Band idea. No guitar break, no background harmonies, just the bare bones tune recorded on my phone when an opportunity presented itself to borrow my daughter's guitar during a visit today.

Hope you like its message, at least. 😎

Lyrics:

My eyes lay open to the fact we will be leaving,
As they look round,
Through the distance that we came.

They gaze aloft to the heavens in their reeling,
Like stars in motion,
Things don't remain the same.

Heard the laughter of a hundred thousand ages ringing through me.
Heard the crying of a hundred thousand sages who somehow knew me.
They somehow knew me.

Hear the magic of the clear and flowing river,
Sparkling water,
Nature's giver.

Taste the precious food which Mother Earth supplies,
And know the line,
It's up to us to draw.

Heard the crying of a hundred thousand ages ringing through me.
Heard the laughter of a hundred thousand sages who somehow knew me.
They somehow knew me.

My eyes lay open to the fact we will be leaving,
As they look round,
Through the distance that we came.

They gaze aloft to the heavens in their reeling,
Like stars in motion,
Things don't remain the same.

Audio File Link:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KyGTo1d5luA-R7zEpNlBW4QqkTtAWYZf/view

Sort:  

I heard the laughter of a hundred thousand sages who somehow knew me.
They somehow knew me.

Man, there is something about these lines that really resonate with me. Sage always seem to know us. When you look at the abyss be sure it is looking back at you. This is such an excellent piece, @novacadian is a poet and I didn't know it! Sorry couldn't resist...

Wow, glad the words had an impact, Papa. Thanks muchly for the feedback!

Btw, did you notice I used the syntax guide you suggested to insert the quote above ? Baby steps....lol

Yeah it had me wondering, "How the hell did Papa do that cool trick?" 😀

Great to hear you play!! I love your voice, it's cool!!

Gee thanks, @lyndsaybowes! Your opinion means a lot while sticking my toe in Steemit's musical waters for the first time. 😎

Downloaded the MixPad app for Android. My but effects can be forgiving to the old voicebox!

Take two! 😎

Have to get the guitar on its own track.

Qter pokes the ashes of his campfire in the middle of nowhere when all of a sudden he recognizes a voice

-"Ven? How could it be? I'm very far from the temple right now... Am I dreaming!? Could this be a message from Talad himself or just the wind?"

He falls asleep while he watches the flames getting dimmer as the wind keeps singing...

Wow @novacadian! I didn't know you also play the guitar! This song is so good! You are full of surprises my friend!!!

Thanks @cpol! My guess is that Ven has a nicer singing voice. ;)

One thing that has really enamored me about Steemit is its blog flavor. It tends to give me a stronger insight into those one interacts with here.

Yeah it's an interesting concept!

that's very nice thanks for sharing this

My pleasure, @blazing! Glad you enjoyed!

i like lyric thanks fo sharing

My pleasure! So glad you enjoyed. ✌💛

Past upvote but I stopped by to let you know I visited the link you left. Hopefully you get the spot. Rooting for you!

Thanks! 😎