What Do You Look for in a Music Producer? DEBATE (Photos -- 35mm)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0148.JPG

Recently stopped by a studio and had me thinking ... what do one look for in a producer?

Please note: I am not a producer or a DJ, I just snapped these photos and had me thinking, so don't roast me! Haha.

From having various conversations about the different types of beats, some have said they look for hard-hitting 808-heavy beats ... to others saying, they like the focus to be on the melody vs. the bass line. So, what do one look for in a song?

DSC_0152.JPG

Obviously, you need these various layers to complement each other, but I personally do believe the millennials these days are too focused on the hard-hitting bass to essentially make it a ... slapper, and instead should focus on the one or two additional note(s), harmonizing or complementing the key note(s) of the melody.

I do feel that these one or two notes have a much larger effect than most freshly-starting producers think. I've noticed that they tend to just have their "sick" 808s with the one/two-layered melody and think it's enough. In my head ... WRONG. ADD MORE LAYERS!!!

DSC_0161.JPG

I did mention that I've never produced and all, but I do have some experience playing trombone, guitar, bass, etc. so I do know a bit about music theory and composition.

I just wanted to share my thoughts and opinion on recent producers and music. You may or may not agree with what I've said, but I think starting these conversations are great, especially for producers, to understand what people look for.

Lastly, just wanted to make it clear that I do f**k with trap and them slappers ... trust me, I listen to a lot. I just think there's so much more to a beat than just a hard bass line.

Let's hear your thoughts!

Thanks,
BM