Tango Crash Drum Cover "Otra Senata"

in #music6 years ago

I Wanted to work on something unique that brought in my interest in tango and fusion. I chose a Tango Crash song called “Otra Senata”

Tango Crash is a neotango band that combines electronica with Tango roots. Neotango is a modern subgenre of tango that originally gained popularity in Europe and South America and has since grown into a global dance-inspired movement. I discovered the band while attending a milonga (Argentine tango social dance) in New York City.

I like the unique instrumentation which includes bandoneon along with the electronica. Bandoneon which looks like an accordion, is what drives the tango.

I also like how the groove avoids the downbeat on the “1.” Mostly everything you hear (that’s popular) in the states has a drum part with a heavy downbeat on the “1.” So it’s nice to get away from that in this song.

I used a lot of cymbals in the cover. I wanted to create a drum part that added a little bit more to the acoustic sounds in the song.

And here’s the version with just the drums.

Sort:  

nice! I didn't know tango crush, there is also gotan project who does this kind of fusion, you may probably know them :)

Thanks @catherinegairard! yes I'm familiar with Gotan Project another great Neotango band.

This is cool, avoiding the 1 is way more complex than it seems. Love it. Also, you kinda look like Jim Keltner.

Thanks! ha ha about kelter, yeah I even look more like him now that I have a beard.:)

This is something else! But nice brother!

Winny out...for now ;)

Thanks Winny!