Camila Pérez feat. Luz Pinos - Háblame ( Studio Version )

in #music2 years ago

Hello HIVE

A few days I shared a live version of this song so today I want to share the studio version.

This is actually a very minimalistic production , mostly Camila's vision as I was tempted to add more elements but she insisted to keep it just as a 2 vocals and guitar performance.

The challenge here was to make a memorable arrangement with the 2 voices and make them play with each other. The amount of automation on this is insane , all done manually , to give it a natural flow but trust me every phrase was checked and automated individually , every breath , little detail , all by hand.

The guitar kind of stays in the background but I also automated it to come in the parts that it stays alone , all done in a very subtle way.

The final mixing stage was also done by Sergio Vivar , he added the delays and general ambience using a Lexicon unit ( can't remember the exact model ) , finally it was printed in an analog summing machine , going thru Pultec Tube EQ's to give it some warmth.

Hope you like it !

Thanks for listening :)

Pechiche Mena

Sort:  

Oooh, tube EQs! You don't hear of people using those very often. They may not be as precise as a digital EQ, but they certainly are warmer, and probably give a certain character to the sound.
That's a really lovely mix! I can see why a person might be tempted to add an instrument track to this, but I think the more you add to a song like this, the less mood it ends up with.

I like tube EQs and compressors in general :) they give some character to the general sound but can be tricky to use , specially if you mix loud as I do , the gain staging is important so not do distort these units too much ( a little distortion i always like :D ) .

I also like to use a LA-2 tube compressor in vocals , by sending the vocals thru that unit it already sounds ''finished'' .. it rounds it off very nicely :)