Camila Pérez - Prefiero

in #music2 years ago

Hello HIVE

Today I am sharing another song I arranged and produced for Camila Pérez. This was the last song I produced for her before she moved to another direction in style ( we still work together but I am not her producer anymore )

This particular song it's a bit of a fusion of two styles : Rumba Flamenca and Candombe.

Flamenco as we all know is from Spain and as she studied music and lived in Barcelona we wanted to get some of that sound imbued into the music. I am not an expert by any means in that style but we decided to hint it with the Nylon Guitar , this was played by Cristian Robinson who precisely is very well versed in Flamenco guitar.

Candombe is a style from Uruguay , most precisely said it's an Afro-Uruguayan style of music and is played in the 3-2 clave like Salsa and Rumba. Having lived in both Argentina and Uruguay it's a style I have been more exposed to so I knew I could get some elements in.

As Camila is mainly a Singer-Songwriter we put everything down the umbrella of a ''pop song'' and this is what came out.

The drums play in a bit more of a linear fashion but it ties everything down together . Again , the vocal arrangements are a bit of a personal trademark in most of my productions :)

I did not handle the mix on this one , this was mixed by Sergio Vivar who also mixed most of my first album

Mastering was done in Argentina by Daniel Ovie

Hope you like it!

Pechiche Mena

Sort:  

There's so many good things to say about this song!
She has a lovely voice! The arrangement of the song seems to be just right for the feeling of the song. The harmony vocals are really well done and add a lot of feeling to the song.
I like the way it starts out, and then the bass comes in...

Hey Amber! Thank you very much :)

Regarding the bass , I am a fan of using the low B string for dramatic effect hahaha , it's very effective . I try to keep that low register untouched until a particular strong point and then drop it to ''Open'' the song . That's Pablo Elorza on bass .. if i'm not mistaken that is a Fender Jazz bass going thru an Avalon U5. That chain works 9 out of 10 times for me :)