Viento Celeste - Spinetta Jade Tribute

in #music2 years ago

Hello HIVE

Today I want to share a mix I did for a Spinetta Jade tribute last year. This one was a big one for me since I am a huge fan of Luis Alberto Spinetta , probably my favorite composer from Argentina.

image.png

I was contacted by Javier Malosetti who was actually in one of his bands and had put together a roster of musicians that actually played with him for this tribute , most of the musicians here are the ones that played in the original version.

Javier knew me from college days in Buenos Aires, I worked with him once when I was probably 22 years .. so 10 years later who would have thought I would be mixing for him :)

I listened to the original many times and tried to give it a modern twist conserving the vibe from the original one . Again , I mix aggressive and loud so I wanted to impart that into the new version.

Here it is:

Luckily the fans accepted it well ! Here is the original one :

What do you think?

Thanks for listening!

Sort:  

That's an interesting timing on the song. I don't know if this would be considered a type of jazz or not, it reminds me of the kind of music that that Steely Dan might have done.

It's starts in 7/8 if im not mistaken . I think you could consider this a bit jazz and progressive , and yup Steely Dan it's a good reference for this actually :)

I find the tone of the bass guitar really interesting. It's really present without being trebley.

That was an interesting tone i received for that one .. its a headless bass , cant recall the brand . I did add a lot of low end in the mixing stage . Waves R-bass helps a lot with that ;)