Lucero Has Taken Over My Entire Music Life, And I Love It

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Lucero-Daryll-Peirce-18x24-Poster-2.jpg

I have always been a huge music fan. I love to spend a lot of time on each artist I discover and study their lyrics, history, etc. I spent a whole year each on Bob Dylan and the Rolling Stones. I am very open to listening to music of all genres but have spent most of my life on grunge/alternative rock, 60's/70's classic rock, east vs west coast 90's rap and Americana/alternative country.

IMG_20161008_003640.jpg

Over the last few years there has been one band that has dominated my Spotify playlists. One that I have seen live numerous times, sometimes driving across four states just for a show. That would be Lucero-no not the Mexican diva, the band based out of Memphis, Tennessee.

4-Lucero.jpg

Going to a Lucero show is much different than going to your average concert. Lucero fas are diehards in every sense of the word. It makes for an atmosphere unlike any I've ever experienced as a music fan. They operate a lot like a family, complete with an annual block part, an official Lucero family Christmas gathering and a family picnic. All ages are welcome at these special events so you see people bringing their kids to experience their first concert all the time.

FB_IMG_1483636011043.jpg

They are very accepting of others and easy to become familiar with by talking at shows and chatting in the Real Lucero Fan Group on Facebook, which everyone seems to visit on a daily basis. After just a few shows I really began to look at other fans as an important second family in my life.

71205c6f7f74777bee82fed85a987995--instagram-quotes-lucero.jpg

One thing unusual that I found extremely interesting was the way lead singer/songwriter/guitarist Been Nichols regularly visits with fans before and after shows, always willing to chat and take a picture with everyone. Between songs during shows, Ben talks with the audience exactly like you would your family or good friend. You really get to know the band personally right from the start.

luceromurderbydeathposter.jpg

Here's some photos of me with Ben...that's me on the left in the first one and that's singer/songwriter Cory Branan on the right in the third photo. The fourth has my friend with Ben being silly for the camera:

cropped_header_1418507698313.jpg20160621_195028.jpgIMG_20170131_220307_364.jpgFB_IMG_1466516497169.jpg

Here's photos of the other four band members, Roy Berry (drums), John C. Stubblefield (bass), Rick Steff (keys) and Brian Venable (guitar):

coverstory4.jpg85851812.jpg7086256583_79948e1af8_z-e1366659211952.jpg55a53eb0550e0.image.jpg

The band formed in 1998 and released it's first full album in 2001. They are widely known as the hardest working band in music for their relentless, nonstop touring. This year (2018) they will be releasing a new album. Everyone is excited and clueless on when because the band is keeping the release date a secret. One which I'm hoping will be revealed at the annual family block party which I will be attending on April 14th in Memphis, where the band is based.

83e0240aedd9abde8a82bf43f6a58f38.jpg

Here are a couple great videos I took at a show at Whitewater Tavern in my hometown of Little Rock, Arkansas, which is where Ben Nichols is from:



The band has it's own unique sound-a mix of punk, Americana, altcountry and rock with a little Memphis sound mixed in by way of a horn section in some songs. If you love and enjoy music, you absolutely should give Lucero a try, especially live. Odds are they are going to be in a town near you at some point soon!

lucero-300x224.jpg

When the band isn't touring, Ben usually has a solo acoustic tour going. It is amazing, kind of like a VH1 Storytellers setup that also features Rick Steff on acordian and piano:

YW_2-9_3_Lucero_at_Belly_Up_on_Wednesday.jpg

I will be reviewing more bands that I am familiar with in the future so be sure to follow and don't forget to upvote and resteem if you liked the article. Thanks!

when-lucero-is-playing-you-shut-the-fuck-up-a9c28.png
Lucero-Family-Crowd-Shot2016.jpg
IMG_20171110_134311.jpg
gplus1282558480.jpg
crettigphotography-20171110-0029.jpg

By the way, I have a Lucero Amino Fan Group that is private and not listed so if you'd like to check it out just leave a comment and let me know.

community-20180205-2.jpg

All photos and videos are either my original work or found for free with Google advanced image search...

Sort:  

You got a 25.00% upvote and resteem from @ebargains courtesy of @rettigphotos. Thank you for using the @ebargains UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.