You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Route 66,” covered by The Cramps … (Rhythm ‘n’ Blues / Punk / Psychobilly – Music to Your Ears, Covers–33)

in #music5 years ago

The Cramps cover is great, and it comes from a very fun album, FLAME JOB, which is full of entertaining psycho-billy tracks, like "Ultra Twist" and "Sado County Auto Show." (Although, "Route 66" is still my favorite song on the album.) Interestingly (to me), Depeche Mode ALSO covered "Route 66" about six years before The Cramps, as a B-Side to their "Behind the Wheel" single. Their version is also quite good, and several remixes have appeared, including an excellent medley of "Route 66" WITH "Behind the Wheel." The DM song is NOT as psycho or moody as The Cramps version, but it's a solid, icy synth take on the tune.

Thanks for the post! It's been a while since I listened to The Cramps. Time to go grab some sick music (for sick me) and let it spin!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for the info! I heard a bit of Depeche Mode back in the day, but never really listened to them much. I did not know that they covered Route 66, but I'll go search for it now and give it a listen.