How to help musicians succeed? All suggestions and/or opinions are welcome!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-164801.jpeg

Music is an art form, that is possibly blessed with biggest potential of creation, in regards to other art forms. Production of music was never more accessible to the masses than it is today. (It doesn't guarantee quality, but it's a start)

What do you need for simple music production?

A personal computer and a specialized software. (DAW- Digital Audio Workstation)
Look up: Reason, Nuendo, FL Studio, Cubase, ProTools, Logic, etc.

Of course, to produce something fairly listenable you need imagination and a "good ear". Modern era of music is full of flaws, as I written in my other article, but actual artistic freedom was never easier to express. (When you can literally express yourself with your home equipment) Especially in an age when you can upload your tracks online at the speed of sound. I can't answer how you should get your listeners, as it is a totally different subject but I can tell you that more and more people are starting to partake in the music industry.

Independent scene is beautiful, full of talented young people that are down to earth and have a strong moral and ethical code behind their music. (We have to invest in that kind of people, this way or the other) My first idea of investment would probably be through steemit and/or dtube, so if you like what you've listened, award it generously. It may be a breakthrough for a musician to get this kind of attention (not necessarily for promotion, but for addition to his equipment) so let's say a musician gets few hundred dollars through steemit/dtube, he could buy him/herself a new keyboard or pre-amp, bringing his music to another level.

money-euro-coins-currency-332304 (1).jpeg

Why do I think steemit is a good platform to award musicians?

Because of it's simplicity. You up-vote and resteem things that you like, that you've maybe emotionally attached to, and help the musician get his needed prize/attention. This community is developing quickly and is becoming stronger, day by day, week by week, so anyone who wants to participate please try to acknowledge my idea.

So, the basic premise is; Every now and then (every 2 days lets say) try to view the postings in #music and listen to few songs and generously award the ones you think deserved it.
It would be your addition to the musical community, and your direct donation to the musician itself, excluding the middle man. (They, in mainstream music, take most of the cake)

Music is, possibly, one of the few forms of expression today, that touches everyone you know. Probably every human being is exposed to it's influence, and everyone is prone to link with a genre, or just one song. Everyone of us has his/her favorite song, genre, artist, composition, so the easiest way that we could participate in this industry is, as I stated above steemit/dtube. It is easy! In a click of a mouse you could help someone be better at what they are doing, in a click of a mouse, you could help someone develop.

man-person-technology-music.jpg

My advice to all the musicians, producers, lyricist and everyone interested in working within the art-form itself is to never give up. Try to gather your influence and listener base through organically reaching out to people, rather than spamming your content in the comment section of people posts. Comment from your hearth, don't just comment for the sake of commenting. One example of a bad comment is: "Good job! View my latest post and follow me!" You don't stand a chance with that kind of attitude. Try to interact, people always award your precious time and opinion.

After you finished recording, take your time and do your mixing as it should be. There is no worst thing than listening to a potentially great song, that wasn't mixed correctly, so you end up listening to high-low peeks, that kill person's ear, and attack the nervous system of an individual. If you don't have time for mixing there are many studios around the web that could mix your song for a small amount of money. I think most of the producers would get my point.

If you are posting a live performance of your song, try to interact with your listeners, show them that you are doing this for them! They came here to see you, what you present to them is up to you, and only you. Don't be discouraged if you don't get the needed attention after few posts. That could just motivate you to work more, and believe in better future. I could never forget my first project, it was pure trash, but when I listen to it today, I smile. Why? Because I know I developed a lot. I would cry, only if I was at the same level today. So I am telling you once more, don't give up.

If you need any advice regarding mixing, producing, etc. or you just need me to listen to your song, please be kind to send me an e-mail to: [email protected]
I would be glad to answer to your inquiry as my time lets me.

pexels-photo-356079.jpeg

To conclude this, I would like for you to ask yourself; What is my goal? Is it to gather listeners, to make money, to express myself, to do what I love?

Any of this answers would lead you to a specific path, you just need to draw your road to it, using your creativity. Expand your horizons, think outside the box. Some of the greatest indie musicians today live of what they do, and so should you. I want you all to have a fruitful 2018, to produce as many quality tracks, texts or compositions of any sort, and of course, before everything else, to be healthy and ready for new challenges.

And as I always do, I will give you a quote from one and only, Otis Redding;

"If you want to be a singer, you've got to concentrate on it twenty-four hours a day. You can't be a well driller, too. You've got to concentrate on the business of entertaining and writing songs. Always think different from the next person. Don't ever do a song as you heard somebody else do it."

Sort:  

Nice post dude, I have been lucky enough to gain some momentum by doing music posts and even some collaborations with fellow steemits . My philosophy with music is if it comes from the heart and is honest and pure the technique will work itself out.

Great comment! Music is our deepest desire, creation that comes from places we didn't know exist. Peace and love.