A life of a musician

in #music6 years ago (edited)

image.png

The music industry has changed. Everybody is talking about it. For years everybody is talking about it, and the music industry keeps changing. I try to realize what this means for me, as a musician who will soon reach the end of the fourth decade of her life. I grew up in a world of rock 'n' roll, record labels and concept albums. In a world with a naive belief that music can change the world. The soundtrack of my childhood is a mixture of protest songs, love, hope and anger, and above all, breaking conventions. I have always known that the stage is my natural home, and I have learned over the years to take responsibility. To give meaning. To tell a complete story, Which has something in it that might motivate, and perhaps will change the world a little bit, to think about albums with concept. And I love that the music is like that. meaningful. As a writer, but also as a listener.

6089311342_02abf668b7_z.jpg
Photo by downhilldom1984 on Foter.com / CC BY

Then there was Napster. Then the record companies collapsed. Free music for everyone. Viva la révolution. Anyone can hear. Anyone can be a creator. complite freedom ...
And where does that meet me? On the one hand, I think it's wonderful. That it is important and necessary that music will be available to anyone who wants it, and that this change was necessary & is absolutely welcome, along with the possibility of reaching a lot of listeners with 1 simple click. On the other hand, as a person who grew up on records, sometimes I find it difficult to keep up with all that is happening now, & understand what exactly do I need to do to bring my music to the audience and remain true to myself, responsible and meaningful, and as a musician, I'm not sure that this endless abundance does not diminish the quality of music or our patience and listening abilities.

my-meme (16).jpg

One important thing I have learned on the way - Since the industry continues to change, it depends on us, what will become of it. The more we initiate, and the more we insist, the more we reach, the more we touch, the more we make a diffrent. I also learned that independent musicians are a community with a lot of mutual responsibility, and a desire to do, and to do together, and that is where, I slowly find my place. This is how the project I am engage in this days was born, ( I already told about it to the Hebrew speakers among you) - the new indie performance line - under the scale.

image.png
photo by Dedi Cohen

About a week from the day we published the festival, I can report that it is sucking out my time, my energies and my thoughts, and that it is a Great happiness. Dozens of musicians and ensembles have already signed up to perform, and I sit in the mornings listening to them, and discover real pearls. I can see it in my mind - how the line grows and develope, a gig and another one and so on. I talk about it with Amir, my partner in the production, and we are so fucking excited. Every few moments someone turn to us becose he wants to help, or just happy that this dream of ours is coming true. we find interesting ways to make it a reality, and we feel the love and desire to create around us at any moment.

https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmYSTWkVr6CZc38RXTavn7NigGAD4BBk1GY7TY8DAZ549j
Photo by BottleLeaf on Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

With Woodstock in our history, and the technological advance ahead of us, I do not know how the line will turn out. I am curious, excited, and enjoying every moment, and I hope to see you there. 1.8.18 at the ALF.
In the meantime I'll go play a little, may we all have a good week.

go.png

Sort:  

Really nice article , enjoyed this.

thank you very mouch

I think the music industry has not adapted to the new times at all. I think that we should all have the freedom to listen to whatever we want at any time at no cost, as happens with Spotify.

However there is too much shit in the music scene because of this, one should dig to get good music. So in short, everything is a matter of perspective.

but if everything is for free, how do you suggest musicians will pay their rent?

Spotify is in charge of paying the artist and at the same time offer us free music. I think musicians must adapt to earn money in different ways, through concerts and via streaming. There are a lot of different ways to earn money if you are an artist nowadays.

spotify makes artist pay a lot of mony for being on their playlist. any other ideas? do you know how mouch it cost to put up a concert? & that everybody is expecting indie musicans to prform for free?

Congratulations @ronabar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!