My Top 10 EXO Songs

in #music6 years ago

Hello steamians, I was thinking about ideas to write a blog post here on steemit and one of the ideas that came into my mind was to introduce you guys to my favourite to my favourite kpop group by making a list of top 10 favourite songs.

I am a huge fan exo, a South Korean Kpop group that debuted in 2012. They are currently one if biggest boy groups in the world with 4 albums that are million sellers. They also hold the guiness records for winning the highest number of daesangs - grand prize awards.

It wasnt easy for me to choose just 10 songs for the list because every single one of their album is a goldmine. They are know to have one of the best discography in Kpop. So I've chosen my favourite songs based on what they mean to me rather than on their musical qualities.

So let's get started, shall we?

10.Electric Kiss

(

This is the lead single of exo's first Japanese album Countdown, and the only Japanese song in the list. The sound us very different from what you'll find in their Korean albums yet exo managed to pull it off flawlessly.

9.Miracles in December

(

A song that best represents why exo is a vocak powerhouse in kpop. Their three lead vocalists, D.O, Baekhyun and chen are known as one the best singers in kpop right now and this song gave them ample opportunity to show their talent.

8.Overdose

(

One of the two exo songs that I heard of the group before I became their fan. It's your typical dubstep song but what makes it work is the whole package. From the cinematography, the dance to the visuals of the members, everything shows what Kpop is all about.

It was while watching this music video that I first got to know about Kai. As I was scrolling through the comment section on youtube, there was comment which went something like "ugh kai, can you get out of thd frame." It was then that i found out that the blonde one dancing in the centre is named Kai. He later became my most favourite, the one stan for, in the group.

7.Love Me Right

(

It was during thd release kf thus single that j became a full fledged fan of EXO and Kai. The song shows the light,fun side of exo and Kai's dancing in it showed why he is so popular with fans.

6.Growl

(

The very first exo song that I heard about when i got into kpop back in 2014. I knew nothing about the group but I had this song on repeat for days. With its 4 tone structure the song is catchy and gets stuck into your head in just a few listens.

I later found out that this was one of the biggest hits of 2013 and the song that propelled exo to national fame.

5.What if

(

My all time favourite exo ballad. It's one of those songs that you not only listen to, but get immersed in. At least that's how I felt when I first listened to it, like the atmosphere created by the melody, the music, the voices has engulfed me. The emotions expressed in the song transversed the language barrier and tucked on my heart strings.

4.Baby Don't Cry

(

(

This was the song and performance that made me stan Kai. Watching this video for the first was an experience I can never forget. It was one of those rare moments in life when you get to see what the purpose of life is. To be who you are meant to be and experience the joy of it. Kai was born to a dancer and the first time I saw the joy in his face while he was performing shook me.

I had been through a very difficult time in life and I was just starting to get a grip of things. And when I watched that video it was like my soul was scream "looking at this! You keep asking me what is the purpose of human life - this is it. This what you were too were born to experience.

I don't know if this makes sense to you guys, but it was an almost spiritual experience for me. It was like after a really long time I saw someone who wasn't just trying to get through life, living in quiet desperation. But someone who knew, who had experienced that life is worth living despite the dark moments because he had this passion that sustained him.

This post is getting derailed so I better stop here.

3.Been through

(

A b side from exo's latest winter album that I can't stop listening to.

While describing this song, someone on a south korean portal wrote that you feel like you are walking on the street of London after a rainy day. I think this very well describes the feel of the song.

Its quite different from what you'd usually hear in kpop. In general most songs are either performance based or are ballad types. But this songs doesn't fall in either categories and that's what it's appeal is.

2.What is Love

(

This is the song that made a fan of the whole group. When I got into kpop, I used keep hearing that exo were a bunch of pretty boys without any talent. So I never bothered to listen their songs nesides Overdose and Growl. This song showed me how biased those people and how wrong I was to tryst their words.

1.What You Do

(

A b side from exo's new album The War, this song became my most favourite on first listen. It shows everything exo is capable of and why i love their music.

You know there are some people who like it see social commentary, a deeper meaning in the music they listen to. There's nothing wrong with that but I'm not one of those people. I don't want to see the struggle and angst of my existence reflected in the music I listen to. For me music is something that I can enjoy, something that evokes a feeling of happiness, not something that would aggravate my sadness.

What you do is one of those song that you can just listen and enjoy.

And that is my list of top 10 exo songs. Thanks for reading until here.

Sort:  

Pretty good.
I also work in the music field and I am the founder and leader of a music project called Music Without Borders
https://www.instagram.com/mwbmusicwithoutborders/?r=sun1

Good job my fri...