You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing DSound: a decentralized sound platform using STEEM and IPFS

in #music7 years ago

It's so exciting to see stuff like this being built on top of the Steem blockchain! Thanks so much for putting your time and passion into developing this and I look forward to seeing how it grows.

On a more personal note, I love that you specifically mentioned mashups. I really enjoy listening to mashup artists and I hate how difficult it is to do so. The creativity involved in a good mashup boggles my mind and I hate how their entirely original work is restrained by IP. How amazing would that be if DSound became the home of mashup artists all over the world?! Incredible...

Very exciting times ahead and thank you for being an active part of it!

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words! :) That is absolute truth. I am a musician and DJ myself and I understand what is behind the creations of remixes, mashups and DJ sets. That is another kind of art! People that say that a remix is a beat under another music need to sit down in front of a Digital Audio Workstation and try to do it themselves... And listen to what they get out of it. Then they will realize that it is a complex thing, that requires a lot of technique and creativity to build up, and much more important, the result is a completely different music and vibe if it is done right! The same for mashups or DJ sets. Try to go to a club with a crappy DJ or an automated shuffle playlist and you will notice the difference, even without understanding anything about music... We need to open our minds and embrace art creation in its whole, not just parts of it...

And I'd like Stems to be available too. You could share or sell your ideas, riffs, drumloops... People could steal your ideas in a good way, I see no problem when you get a part of their upvotes... ?

You can upload stems already, there is a category for that... And when I will have playlists done, then a playlist could be a stems set and people can vote on your playlist to give you rewards for your work. There are somethings missing still, you should have a key and bpm to select stems for, but it will take time to develop that still... :)

Yeah but will I get to know who used my stems and where? That would be cool! This album was made possible by @prc and @nutela and ...

It's my dream so if you want to develop it I'll look into it if we can have it on the Whaletank or some other Whale sponsor. I mean I'm working with audio, programming and some Machine Learning, I can write an iOS app...

Just a wild thought, with XML being eXtensible Markup Language you could maybe have an eXtensible Block Chain where you can add meta-data within limits and have separate indexes for a type search engine DB to find drumloops, breakbeats, guitar riffs etc. And Machine Learning (ML) can distinguish and categorize not only styles and proper tags but also musical features such as tempo, harmony, key. There are apps which can do that for a song, for stems / multitrack - parts it should be easier since it is already separated.
I mean if you want get really crazy you can have a Mac server with plugins with which you can play by sending in MIDI notes and some parameters and sell your patches live this way. So no static sample but the real instrument :)