King Krule's Forever Dolphin Love

in #music6 years ago

Howdy there,

This cover that King Krule made of Connan Mockasin's Forever Dolphin Love has got me entranced. At 1:43 in the song it starts really kickin. Before that there is a classy radio intro. With some Pink Floyd sounds floating around.

My girlfriend thinks the whole thing sounds like someone tried to bring grunge back. But did a terrible job. There are parts of this song that sound like a garage band practicing for the high school talent show, I agree.

But there are other parts that rope me in so far, I get lost in the sound. I wanted to share this to see if other people had the same feeling. At 3:45 is another great section of this song. It makes it worth it for me to listen to the bad grunge parts.

After listening to the King Krule cover of Forever Dolphin Love about 5 times, I finally took a peek at the original. Had not heard of Connan Mockasin before. Apparently they are a powerful influence for the liked of characters like King Krule and Mac Demarco. Here is their version of this song.

Out there music video. The video kept me engaged the whole time. But the sound was no where near as magnetizing as the King Krule version.

King Krule has always been an enigma to me. Sometimes he sounds awful. Like he's about to peel over from drug abuse and depression. And other times he is a complete musical God. He only has a few bangers. His song Easy Easy is what got me into him at first.

Such a unique character for music. Which makes him refreshing. Looking forward to more of his work in the future.

Cheers

Follow @scraped