out on the weekend - neil young

in #music3 years ago (edited)

screen_shot_2021_03_06_at_11.43.43_pm.png


(still learning how to post videos on here, please forgive me)
i really don’t like my singing voice, but i have always loved this song by neil young. i think he captures perfectly what it’s like to be a young, single, man. you begin to lose faith in where you are in life, physically, emotionally, mentally and want to move away and start fresh - like maybe that will make a difference.

inevitably you find yourself laying in the bed of a lover and looking around trying to grab your bearings. in the early stages of love, there is always going to be one person who feels a stronger connection than the other, and in this case neil has found himself fawning over this woman who doesn’t really have the same feelings as him. he isn’t even a thought inside her head, yet he is trying to hard to make that happen. while she may be there for him in a physical sense, and "love him all up" it is clear that what he is searching for is a much more spiritual and emotional connection.

when i hear this song, the visuals are so powerful. for me, the song evokes imagery of being in northern california in the mountains with lucious rolling hills below and the ocean on the outset, and an old rusty pickup truck. it reminds me a lot of the time i spent in big sur, and brings to light similar feelings to the ones i experienced there. a strong desire to run away from my home back in massachusetts and all of the snow for a simpler and ~chiller~ lifestyle out there, and hopefully find the love i've been searching for.

the brass bed and the pictures on the walls makes me think of a house, something like the house in forrest gump, and the running down the road calls to mind imagery of a child-like man running down the road, as to me it feels awfully childish to try and make yourself known inside someone’s head who doesn’t value you the same way. sometimes that’s just how it is though, and i find that same thing happening to me from time to time. you care about someone more than they care about you and it’s painful to realize and watch, and surely neil had figured that out and is tapping into those emotions here.

out on the weekend - neil young

think I'll pack it in and buy a pick-up
take it down to l.a.
find a place to call my own and try to fix up
start a brand new day

the woman I'm thinking of, she loved me all up
but I'm so down today
she's so fine, she's in my mind
i hear her callin'

see the lonely boy, out on the weekend
trying to make it pay
can't relate to joy, he tries to speak and
can't begin to say

she got pictures on the wall, they make me look up
from her big brass bed
now I'm running down the road trying to stay up
somewhere in her head

the woman I'm thinking of, she loved me all up
but I'm so down today
she's so fine, she's in my mind
i hear her callin'

see the lonely boy, out on the weekend
trying to make it pay
can't relate to joy, he tries to speak and
can't begin to say, oh

Sort:  

Congratulations @seabass-n-broc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day