A blog about music

in #music8 years ago

Hi Everybody

Here is my first post on steemit and I will introduce myself and develop my first topic. This first topic will be in 2 parts

I'm in the cryptocurrencies world since maybe 2 years and I'm really glad to see projects like steemit arriving . It's the beginning of a whole new world , with I hope a lot of fair and interesting projects. I'm not a developper nor a banker ( even if I try to trade as I can ) but a musician . I started music 20 years ago as a guitarist .
I'm French so I hope you'll excuse my mistakes. I though it would be an interesting idea to share about music theory in a simple and I hope interesting way.

I have though a lot about what is music . When you think about it you realise that it is not simple to theorize on music and to define it . Most of the time people have an idea of what is music they like and don't think about it . For them there is good music and bad music . Personnaly I have the feeling I love all kinds of music . As long as you learn to understand the message things goes better . I use the word message because I consider music as a langage . Every style has his strenght and his weakness . Every style tells something different and when you think about it it's really interesting .

Before talking about the different parameters in music I'll talk about tolerance in music and my theory of the tolerance circle .

At first I started with rock music . It was my first favorite music . I started guitar with the red hot chili peppers , the guns’n roses , nirvana and other music bands i loved listening . The funny thing is that I was living in a ghetto where people were only listening to rap . When I was discussing with people they were telling me that rock was shit and the guys of my rock band were laughing at rap music . It was the time I started to follow some guitar lessons . I was a teenager and wanted to play rock music . I've been really lucky to take guitar lessons with my first guitar teacher who was not a guitarist but a really good bassist who was able to play guitar really good and who needed money . This guy was definitely not a rocker and he never asked me what I wanted to play. Every week we were playing music styles that I didn't know . One day it was Wes Montgomery, another it was Chic ( with Nile Rodgers crazy guitarist ) , sometimes it was bossa nova , reggae , blues or funk music . I was open minded and also wanted to be a good pupil so I started to work those styles and to appreciate them . Before that I never heard those style and it was a time when spotify didn't exist . I sometimes needed 3 days to download a song and i was really curious . When i think about it it was a great moment .

To be continued ...

Sort:  

Great posting! I'm a classical guitarist (classical crossover, I play my own compositions) and I really like your posting.
Thank you!

Thank you for reading it :-)