You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attention Steemians — Want Upvotes? We Need YOU To Create Excellent Music Content (Including Music Journalism)

in #music7 years ago

You always have awesome stuff to post about man I always enjoy and get a lot out of it. My problem is that I have a lot of passions including music and songwriting . So I have a question , do I NEED to stick to one niche? Or can I post music one day then blog the next, then vlog the next ? Or should I stick to one thing I'm good at ? See this is where I get messed up.. hopefully u can provide some insight ! Thanks !

Sort:  

Hey Steven, this is a tricky question for sure. I think this depends on the stage of your career you are at.

Early on, try everything. Vlog, blog, do covers, originals, music videos, beats, songs, lyrics, whatever. Anything that interests you is worth trying.

Over time, refine it. Figure out where the overlap exists between what you love and what other people value. Hone in on those skills, define your niche, and go from there.

In the end, the most important thing is quality. Don't be satisfied, always push to do better and better. You don't win until you have the best content in the entire fuckin game, and that takes years, maybe decades, to get right.